Passion for the Curious

Have you ever struggled with what, maybe, your purpose is in life?  Have you ever looked in the mirror and just questioned yourself over and over?  Stated, “What am I doing?” or “What am I supposed to do?”  Sometimes in the chapter of our destiny, we often struggle with how we are suppose to be living our lives.  More importantly, we asked ourselves, how we are living our lives for God.  

When I was growing up throughout high school, I was able to find what I was good at when I was fairly young, music.  This came very naturally to me, whether it’s being able to produce the sound, understanding the science behind it, or simply just listening, my talent and passion became what I was good at.  That seems to be the case for most people.  Our passions become what we are good at.

Going back, think of what you think that you have a passion for.  Did this just spring out of nowhere and you woke up one day with us?  Unlikely.  For me, music was my “Go-to-get-away” from bullies and teasing in middle school.  It seemed to be my ecstasy away from the existential crisis that the pressures of life put on to me.

 

A good portion of the time, our passions are fueled by the abilities God has given us through our spiritual gifts.

 

What does the bible say about passion and purpose?  1 Peter 4:10 “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”  God has given us gifts in our lives whether we know it or not.  

As stewards of his kingdom, we are beyond blessed in this life to a point where we can’t realize that we can’t go beyond our own struggles, insecurities and discomfort to use what our passion the way they are intended.  Yet we all have the a purpose to serve.    

I had the amazing opportunity as a freshman and sophomore in college to work on a worship team as the drummer/worship leader at a church camp in Silver Lake, Michigan called Grace Adventures.  In our two week curriculum training, we went over a concept that was called SHAPE.  SHAPE stands for Spiritual Gifts, Heart, Abilities, Personality Styles and Experience.  We use this to assess our spiritual gifts and how we can better understand.  We need to do a personal assessment to understand what our gifts and talents are.

 What are you good at?  What are you passionate about?  What characteristics are similar?

Once you figure these out, we can better, with God’s help, equip ourselves.

Now when it comes to using our spiritual gifts for God’s kingdom and do good works, the biggest problem for Christians, myself included, is continuing to be humble.  Paul teaches us in his letter to the Philippians about humility:

“Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.”  
Be humble in your spiritual gifts, use all of what you are passionate about, and what you enjoy, to the glory of God our Father.  Amen

One thought on “Passion for the Curious

  1. I think your post nailed it right on the head and I really appreciate this. Being a high school teacher, I witness many seniors on the cusp of a new chapter in their lives. They are hit, perhaps more than at any other time in life, with the big question of what am I “meant” to do. I love the story of Mordecai giving Esther encouragement with the statement of “you were made queen for just a time as this.” I think we can easily use this and Ephesians 2:10 to almost be too consumed with a specific task or career that we are supposed to do. I believe that some people are called to do specific things yet all of us are called to do things like love God, be faithful to Him, love others, serve, be humble, use our passions and gifts to glorify God, etc…I think that transcends whatever we choose to do in life and makes everything more full. That’s what I try to point out to kids when they are so worries about making the wrong ‘career’ choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

