Lookin’ at the Stars, Listening to the water

I love looking at the stars on a clear night.

I also love water.

So get me in a place where I can overlook Lake Michigan, at midnight, and it’s my own little bit of paradise. The very sad part is stat I rarely get both at the same time, but when I do I could sit there forever. When I’m in that place I feel all my every day anxieties melt away. It’s like my little piece of heaven on earth.

Its tragic that the very rare occasion that I get to listen to waves crashing over the sand and stare at the stars is the only time that I am truly content.

I think many of us have that one spot, and that same problem.

We have problems with being content where we are.

It seems as though no matter where we are, what we’re doing, whatever God may be doing in our lives, we always want to be somewhere else. I find myself doing this all the time

“I wish I didn’t have to do this paper.”

“I wish I could just graduate already.”

“Why don’t I have a boyfriend yet?”

“I really have to spend all my time with them?”

I find myself thinking these things weekly, daily even if I paid any attention. For some reason I have a hard time believing that God knows exactly what he’s doing, and believe it or not, has me right where he wants me. I like to have control. I’m not comfortable relinquishing that over.

Anyone with that problem needs to learn to refer to 1 Timothy 6:6-7

“6 but Godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 for we brought nothing into the world, and can take nothing from it.”

Ouch. That stung for me. That makes me want to drop everything, and find both godliness and contentment. I think it’s really hard to find one without the other.

We, myself included, need to start being content with where God has all of us in this moment. God is doing work where you are. If you’re always in your favorite place you have nothing to worry about, work through, or hand over.  Remember this then you just want to be somewhere else. Next time you just want to go to your favorite place. The people and situations in your life are all there for a reason. Finding contentment and living in the moment parallel. Make the most of all of it and find joy away from your favorite place.

“First I was dying to finish high school and start college,

Then I was dying to finish college and start working,

Then I was dying to marry and have children,

Then I was dying for my children to grow old enough for school so I could return to work,

Then I was dying to retire.

Now I am dying… and suddenly I realize I forgot to live.”

Don’t forget to live. Strive to live, serve, and love. And just to treat yourself, don’t forget to take that midnight trip to Lake Michigan, because all in all there’s nothing wrong with lookin’ at the stars and listening to the water.

4 thoughts on “Lookin’ at the Stars, Listening to the water

  1. One of the churches in my area hosted a solo act on piano for a while. He shared that he had graduated in business law and had taken a corporate position, and left it behind to share his praise through music. He was struggling financially, and I found myself thinking “Maybe God intended for you to sing His song in the corporate world.”

    What’s hard about that, of course, is keeping our faith when it seems as though he rewards won’t come until after we die. In the modern world, it is often the case that those around us, seeing the beauty of God’s love pouring through us, do what they can to keep us in their midst. But that’s not always the case.

    Like

  2. Well done. Even as I sit here I have a restless heart. An eye out for my “shoulds”. While, frankly, my heart is right here speaking into the words and lives of fellow bloggers. So, fellow blogger, what you say rings true and begs me pass it on. So, gladly, I am Reblogging your treasure! “)

    Like

  3. The battle is real! Contentment is not a virtue taught as part of the American culture. There is always more and better out their according to the American Dream. Just another counter cultural fight we as Christians face every day. I guess if Adam and Eve weren’t content in paradise then we are too easily deceived to feel like we need more. Thanks for sharing. It was a good reminder for me to live in thankfulness because God really has given me way more than I deserve. God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

