Dear Diary: Who is in control?

Who is in control of your life?  

March 4th,2016 3:00am.  We will be on our way from Grand Rapids, Michigan to Camp Caribe, Puerto Rico on our 2060.91 mile journey for our mission.  

I am going to do a few posts on the spiritual journey we  will take while in Puerto Rico, and what we are learning serving the people of God.  This will be for my pre-trip and analyze how I am feeling, and relate this to Jesus, because it is very relevant, so bear with me.

I am quite excited about this, to say the least.  While this will be my third trip to the small little youth camp sitting beside the ocean, this will be my first time leading it, which is both exciting and terrifying.  

I have put alot into this trip.  Hundreds of dollars, hours of planning and budgeting, as well as communicating with the camp itself, and its all the more reason to be excited.  But the one thing that terrifies me is something to go wrong, and I don’t know why.  In my time of camp ministry, I have come to accept that things will go wrong, and not to plan, but I know with that experience, when something will go wrong, “just roll with it” usually rings in my head.  

The other reason I feel a bit scared/nervous about this is the fact that I will feel responsible for all of my team, and rightly so.  While if the time, or schedule has a few holes in it, or something doesn’t go to plan, being responsible as team leader for people’s safety is something new to me as well.  

While I feel this, though, I am glad and rejoice at my jitters.  I know it means that I am not numb to the exciting fact that I am leading a team to be the hands and feet of Jesus, and being given the opportunity spiritually lead this team.  

One thing that I am learning from all this experience is that God is in control. No matter how much we micro-manage our lives, no matter how much we may plan, expect or look ahead to, God’s will will always be perfect.  We learn from our experiences, good or bad, so as we continue to live out our lives, I want to encourage us, that if we leave it all to God, nothing can go wrong!  

 

Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 

Rejoice always, though your plans may not go your way.  Pray continually for God’s will in your life, and that your actions will reflect His will.  His Will is the best for you, though you may not feel it in the moment. Give thanks unto God not matter what your circumstances, because that is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  

2 thoughts on “Dear Diary: Who is in control?

Leave a Reply

