I’m Down to Die Today. Who’s With Me?

There’s this guy that works at the bookstore that the coffee shop I work at is inside of. This guy, let’s call him Frank, drinks at least five mugs of green tea in the course of his 4-11:00pm shift. He comes up to the counter, mug in hand every hour or so and I don’t even have to ask anymore…I know he needs hot water for his precious green tea. Tonight, I jokingly mentioned his “addiction” and Frank proceeded to tell me that he read an article once that included a survey of a certain percentage of people over 100 saying that they drank at least one mug of green tea a day. They claimed that the green tea kept them alive, or at least assisted in doing so. Frank insisted that this is the reason he drinks so much tea. For some reason, this entire concept really struck me in the heart.

 

Honestly, I don’t want to live to be 100. I’m down if Jesus wants to bring me Home right this very second.

 

Don’t get me wrong. From a worldly standpoint, there are some things that I want to do before I die, or before Jesus comes back. I want to marry the love of my life and honeymoon at Lake Tahoe. I want to own a corgi *if you don’t know what these dogs look like, google it. I can almost guarantee tears of joy due to their cuteness*. I want to have kids and I want to be a foster mom. Also, the adrenaline junky in me wants to skydive…oops. Now, all these things are well and good. I believe that God wants us to be happy. If we, as Christians, were all completely miserable, we wouldn’t be doing a very good job of being Jesus. We’re allowed to have fun. None of these things, though, can compare to what it’s going to be like seeing Jesus face to face.

 

GET HYPE GUYS!

 

“But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him” – 1 Corinthians 2|9

 

Nothing compares to what we will see and experience in Heaven. I don’t know about you, but that makes me so excited! Yeah, I’m so happy to eventually do all those things I mentioned before, good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise. But goodness gracious….to spend eternity with Jesus….I don’t even know what words to use!

 

 

Seek steadfast after the Lord. He loves you so abundantly. There is a place prepared specifically for you with Him that you can’t even imagine! Your name is written in the book of life. Celebrate that. Praise Him for all that He is and get hype for the incredible moment when you get to stand before Jesus, praising Him at His feet and lavishing in the love He pours out over us.

 

I’m down to leave right now. Who’s with me?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Down to Die Today. Who’s With Me?

  1. I’m a little torn. For myself, I would love to go home to Christ right now. But where I’m hesitant is in the fact that I have an amazing wife and two beautiful little girls under 3. I just lost my dad two years ago and it hurt a lot and I’m 33. I don’t want my kids to grow up without me or leave my wife to care for them. It’s kind of like what Paul said that for him it would be better to depart but for those he loved it is better that he stay. It’s hard. But I want to make sure I love and want to be with Christ more than anyone, whether that means while I’m here or if he takes me home. It was very refreshing to hear your excitement. It is contagious and j hope it spreads to all your readers! God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

