Just as I am, I come

My roommate is very musically talented. I mean this guy can sing, play drums, bass, acoustic electric, and he’s just really smart when it comes down to music.I admire him for his passion of music. He stands out in a way that I can’t really describe with words. To some people maybe he’s only seen as a musician. It goes way beyond that though, this man has a heart that truthfully seeks God. I could keep on talking about everything I admire about him and how much of an impact he’s been on my life, but something particular happened today. In chapel today he lead a song, some of you may know it and if you don’t I encourage you to try it out. It was Jesus I come by Elevation Worship. When he first opened with the song I kinda laughed to myself a little bit, because I remembered the night before trying to teach him the chorus in spanish. However, he got to the bridge and without any expectation something hit me. For those who don’t know the bridge is this: “Thank you Jesus, just as I am I come…”.

He administered that song in a powerful way. God used him to reach me. I found myself looking back at last week and even today. I’ve been struggling with not feeling “good enough”. It might sound ridiculous because as many would think, this shouldn’t be something to be struggling with, being Christian for about four years now. But I chose to write about this, especially so quickly (same day it took place) because the truth is that I’m not the only one that struggles with this there are many of you reading this right now and you know exactly what I’m talking about. This is speaking to you to. I was chosen to direct my church’s youth service tonight and I was just telling myself over and over again that I wasn’t good enough to do it. I was battling those thoughts because I compared myself to other people and as dumb as this may sound I didn’t think I was “holy” enough. But through that song, God reminded me, just as I am, I can go to Him. I don’t have to change to keep getting closer to God, continually getting closer to God is what changes me. I wrote a prayer for anyone who struggles with this.

Father, thank you so much for the lives that you’ve given us. Let us never take that gift for granted. Lord I pray against all negative thoughts that come into our minds, affecting our lives and our relationship with you God. I pray that whoever read this and knew exactly what I was talking about and know in their hearts that they share the same struggle, that they may all experience You in their own special way. That You, God may reveal Yourself to us and remind us of just how much You love and care for us, as the person that we are, not the person that other people want us to be or the person we try to make ourselves, but just as we are. I pray that you all may have a sweet taste of God’s love in your lives. You are His beloved sons and daughters, He will never leave you or give up on you. The only thing God requires of us is a relationship. In Jesus name, may people draw closer to you God, forgetting all their flaws and imperfections, and just focusing on their relationship with you.

One thought on “Just as I am, I come

Leave a Reply

