Girly Friendship to the Max.

I have this friend… we live hundreds of miles apart yet we’ve remained what I would consider best friends since we were in middle school. I met Allyson when I was in 6th, and she was in 7th grade. Our mom’s worked together at the same Primary School and introduced us. There was no “forcing us to be friends”; we instantly clicked. I’m talkin’ sleepovers every weekend, trips to the mall, hundreds of awful selfies. Girly friendship to the max, you guys.

 

I think there is something to be said about a friendship that withstands miles and I firmly believe that mine and Allyson’s friendship happened and is still happening for a reason. God uses and continues to use her in my life as a constant reminder of His love and commitment toward me. Is that weird? Does that even makes sense? Let me explain.

 

We have a relational God, yes? Yes. Therefore, we being created in His image, were created as relational beings. I have always had a small issue with making real, true, long lasting friendships. But for some reason, my friendship with Allyson withstands the test of time.

 

I was reading in Proverbs this morning and ran across the following *how funny is it that God made this evident to me today?!* –

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” – Proverbs 18|24

 

A bit of encouragement: you don’t have to have a million friends. I know I sure don’t. This week, be praying for God to reveal to you who that one, brother/sister like friend in your life is. I am constantly encouraged by the close friends God chooses to place in my life. Take the opportunity to let those in your life that are your “Allyson”, know how much you love and appreciate them.

 

2 thoughts on “Girly Friendship to the Max.

  1. Great post. Thanks for sharing. Sometimes, I feel guilty because I don’t have a million friends, especially when we live in a social media age where it “appears” everyone has a gazillion! I am so thankful for the few, but incredibly strong, faithful and faith-filled friends I have! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for being my life-long friend.Luv you my sister in the Lord. Betty

    From: NotoftheNorm. To: zenawoman46@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, February 8, 2016 4:52 PM Subject: [New post] Girly Friendship to the Max. #yiv3478232590 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3478232590 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3478232590 a.yiv3478232590primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3478232590 a.yiv3478232590primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3478232590 a.yiv3478232590primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3478232590 a.yiv3478232590primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3478232590 WordPress.com | HannahRunion posted: “I have this friend… we live hundreds of miles apart yet we’ve remained what I would consider best friends since we were in middle school. I met Allyson when I was in 6th, and she was in 7th grade. Our mom’s worked together at the same Primary School and i” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

