I Appreciate You

“Enter his gates with thanksgiving    and his courts with praise;

    give thanks to him and praise his name.

 For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;

    his faithfulness continues through all generations.”

Psalms 100:4-5

For many of that aren’t aware, I’m currently in college. I’m studying youth ministry at Grace Bible College. It’s a great place, people here are welcoming and kind, the community is nice, and the professors are awesome, down to earth people that genuinely care about the students and want them to succeed. Although, Grace is an amazing place, I still struggle a lot with school. Not because I am incapable, but because I quickly become overwhelmed and tear myself down. Last semester was tough for me, I was doing good until I began questioning myself whether or not I was capable enough to make it through college. I let myself become a victim of my own mentality. I was telling myself that I wasn’t good enough to stay in school. I let myself become lost in a sea of dark waters caused by the poison of my negative thoughts. Let that sink in for minute. How many times have we become subject to our own negative thoughts? Thoughts that get in the way of our happiness, success, and even quality of living. 

I’m not the type for the whole “New year, new me” thing, however I did decide to try something different this year that has benefited me greatly so far. I got a small little notebook and in the notebook I write about what speaks to me. I’ve written some ideas for new blog posts, scriptures that are edifying to me, and some really sweet quotes about the Christian life. It’s been helping me keep my mind off the bad things and it really makes me think about a lot of good things. 

Something else I also started was a new prayer that has totally caused some change in my life. I’ve been praying for God to make me more aware of my emotions and to teach me how to let them go appropriately so that I can be lead by His spirit. It’s made me have a more thankful outlook on my life. 

 And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me”. Luke 9:23 

It’s been my continuous prayer and it’s really helped. It’s made me realize how often I let myself be guided by my emotions instead of God. I encourage to anyone who also struggles with the battle against negative thoughts to try this out and perhaps to those looking for a sense of direction. Enter through the gates with thanksgiving. God is faithful, He will deliver and guide us. 

This semester has been going way better. Academically, mentally, emotionally, and I’ve learned to really appreciate the things in my life. The people, the memories, the good times and bad. I am thankful for everything and everyone that supports me, including you guys! 

To conclude this post, I want to extend my gratitude to all those who read our blog post at Not Of The Norm. If you are struggling with negative thoughts and mixed feelings, I pray that God gives you clarity and that you may be able to focus on being lead by His spirit. I appreciate you all! 

6 thoughts on “I Appreciate You

  1. An honest, beautiful, faithful post! I’m so glad you have found guidance in overcoming the overwhelming aspects of self in this world. Love of self and others is best channeled through love of God, for He is the source of all hope and promise. His light overrules the darkness in and around us. Trials and struggles come with humanity, and should be viewed as opportunities for refinement, character building and strengthening of one’s foundation (sometimes, even a shifting of sorts). My son will be going to college next year, and I pray often that I have instilled enough faith and courage in him to overcome the many challenges I know he hasn’t even fathomed. Nothing creates more effective wisdom than experience itself, no matter how much a parent wants to protect and shelter a child. Through your faith and diligence, you have the proper tools to accomplish anything you set your heart and mind to. Continue to pray for guidance and LISTEN for the answers… and you will always overcome. Praying awesome blessings for you along your path. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “I let myself become a victim of my own mentality.”

    Such is the battle of every human in history. Your story of finding strength in surrender is a powerful one. It’s a story that everyone either needs to hear for the first time or be reminded of. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

