Awake // Asleep

I’m sitting in my dorm room thinking about what to write, my roommate is sound asleep and it’s only 8:42pm, and my heart is on its last string. I feel so stressed out mentally, spiritually, and physically. I haven’t been able to figure out how I’m going to pay for this semester, I’m growing up fast and it’s smacking me in the face, and I might get a job that will run me into the ground so I can pay for my tuition.

Who is asleep? Me or my roommate?

Hearing my roommate pray is one of the most uplifting things. He speaks so eloquently when he prays and I want to emphasize when he prays. He has a passion for God all the time. Yeah he gets stressed out but it doesn’t get him down. I, on the other hand, am so forgetful to put God into the center of everything I do. I’m learning quickly that I can’t do this alone.

I need to do whatever it is that I am doing with love and grace just as God has done with me. He shields me with these things. He covers my head with the salvation He provides.

“You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be awake and sober. For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night.  But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing” 1 Thessalonians 5:5-11

The concept of being awake or asleep has always interested me. It was Tyler Joseph who rapped…

“It is faith and there’s sleep. We need to pick one please because faith is to be awake, and to be awake is for us to think, and for us to think is to be alive. And I will try with every rhyme to come across like I am dying to let you know you need to try to think.” – Car Radio by Twenty One Pilots

We need to be awake with a breastplate of faith and love and a helmet of salvation. We need to have faith and love in our hearts and have our salvation always on our mind. To do that we must be awake. Stay awake with me. Stay alive. God wants your full attention. Stand your ground for the Kingdom.

Imagine you’re on night watch duty for the Kingdom of God. Are you going to fall asleep or are you going to fight the temptation and stay awake?

Be awakened. Stay awake.

One thought on “Awake // Asleep

  1. Beautiful.

    favourite part of the verse : “…For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing…”

    God didn’t appoint us to suffer wrath.
    yet went we are drained of every ounce of sustainablity…it can feel a lot like wrath.

    I have been many a night up late like yourself wondering how life will move forward, i’m in school as well…and yes tight finances as well.

    But sometimes we don’t realize how resourceful our God is for us until we are so empty we have the only option to trust Him and to ask from those He bring sin our path.

    You would be surprised what one action will lead to another.
    I encourage you : REST. Rest in knowing the God you love and trust never sleeps on the Job. A verse i had to memorize at a discipleship school i attended is one that recently has been rising up in my heart to the point i am having to almost shout it back at myself, Numbers 23:19 –

    “God is NOT A MAN – that he should lie –
    HE IS NOT HUMAN – that changes His Mind..
    Has he ever spoken – and failed to ACT?
    Has he ever Promised – and not carried it through?!”

    OF course – the answer is NO.
    But the part of the verse that has me hooked lately has been this:
    “He is not human – that changes His mind.”
    My dear writer – God’s mind hasn’t changed about you. About your path, your plans and purposes for this season in your life. He hasn’t thought twice providing you into this schooling, He didn’t make a mistake. he didn’t mean for the good in your life was supposed to be “someone else”. It was meant for you. And if NOOOOOBOOOODY can change His mind…i thinkwe are in good odds to rely on Him.

    Pray about that job you need to do. I myself am pulling all nighters cleaning offices while doing school all day. Dear lord i made it through first semester…but second is another story! Plus i used to wokr 3 shifts – now i’m down to 1. ouch.

    Pray for God to open your eyes in ways you can incur funds by service to others…or a gift you may be able to sell. I used to do the pray that money magically comes in a cheque inthe mail but that prayer hasn’t come to pass yet…lol…. . But in being faithful and trusting all my weakness and brokeness to Him has had people provide for me out of their trust and obedience to Christ and they had no idea of their perfect timing! I pray God would bring people, resources ideas to your life..that He would open your eyes to every oppourtunity. I pray that God would give you the energy strength and rest you need to succeed in your studies. I pray you would be able to receive for as much as you give and then some. Jesus continue to strengthen and encourage this dear writer. Help them to see what you see in times like this. Give them resoration of mind and spirit. Amen.

    Feel free to drop by my page anytime : http://www.betweenthealtarandwell.wordpress.com

    Altar&Well

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

