You get me?

I believe that the most beautiful thing you could ever give someone is the ability to understand them. As human beings we try and find those who we can relate to and connect with in hopes of finding someone that’ll understand us. That’s a product of love, to understand. You truly learn to love someone when you can understand who they are. Understanding, in better words, is giving acceptance. Isn’t that what we all really long for? To be accepted? To feel like we belong somewhere perhaps with someone? I love Psalm 139 because it tells of how God knew us, even before we were born! He knows our anxious thoughts and our hearts!
“You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.” Psalm 139:1 
“For you created my inmost being;you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13

Who better to understand us than He who created us? God understands you. He knows what you’re going through. He is aware of your situation and what lies in your heart. God knows what we struggle with our anger issues, depression, anxiety, loneliness, all of struggles are known to Him. However, so many of us forget that God is understanding. That He knows each of us in a very profound way. We then look for acceptances in things outside of God to fill this indescribable void that is like a vacuum that sucks the life right out of us. I’ll speak for myself, I’ve been there. I’ve felt alone and lost. I would feel like I didn’t belong anywhere because I failed to realize that I belonged to God. He drew me in and gave me assurance that He knew me. I don’t have to pretend, or put on a mask because He already knows me. He understands me and with Him is my dwelling place. You see, God promised us more than salvation and blessing and glory. He promised us acceptance. God simply wants to accept you the way that you are. God wants you. So many are focused on their search for God and on how hard they try to look for Him. But we’ve forgotten that He looks for us to. Let Him find you so you could find where it is you belong. As Paul J. Kim said “You don’t have to change to go to God, going to God is what changes you”. He gets you, just as you are. 

14 thoughts on “You get me?

  1. Love makes greatness out of our frailty. He sees us not only as we are, but as we will be. Think of a seed planted in a pot growing into a mighty tree. What joy would it be in the planting if we could see the tree in the seed? But in entering into us with love, that is just how he sees us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

