Patience, Young Padawan

I will be the first to admit that I am the most impatient person to ever live and I struggle a lot of the time with a bit of a snippy attitude. Being quick to a kind word in a frustrating situation does not come easy to me. I will honestly admit that I think completely irrationally in most situations that irritate me and I react in equally irrational ways. Though this is a daily struggle for me, as I dive into scripture I am finding it easier to lean toward patience and think before I speak.

 

“Be not quick in your spirit to become angry, for anger lodges in the bosom of fools.” – Ecclesiastes 7|9

 

I’ve read that verse so many times, heard it in Sunday school etcetera etcetera. But I am stunned by my capacity to spin scripture, see what I wanted and ignore what I didn’t want to think about.

 

Reading that verse from Ecclesiastes now though, “Be not quick in your spirit to become angry…” makes me truly realize how much I do the exact opposite. I am the quickest to become angry, whether I show it outright or not.

 

“…for anger lodges in the bosom of fools.” Nobody wants to be a fool. I sure don’t. It is so easy to float through day to day with a bad attitude to the point that it almost goes unnoticed by yourself. I know that this is how I dealt with my attitude for the longest time. Like I said earlier, I still struggle with containing and praying through maintaining a Christ-like attitude toward those around me even when I am irritated and impatient.

 

My prayer for you, if you are anything like myself, is that you find a way to reach a level of patience through every irritating worldly moment. I pray that the fruits of the Spirit overwhelm you in ways unlike any time before.

 

One thought on “Patience, Young Padawan

  1. Struggling with that “old man” self is a daily up and down success story:) For myself, I try to remember Paul’s words. Speaking Psalms, hymns and Scripture… Trying to remember when the “selfie’ flares up…does what I say fit in any of these categories? Generally no! So I try to keep mouth shut:) Dang ” ol’ man” never wants to shut up!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

