Try Love

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

There’s a lot of things we don’t know about life, about this earth, and about Christianity. We can’t know the answers to a lot of questions, we can’t even know a lot of questions that we should be asking.

In an existence that is clouded in a fog of unknowable gray matter there is one thing that has been made abundantly clear, Love.

  Let all that you do be done in love. 1 Corinthians 16:14 

Jesus asked us to love. Love a lot.

Jesus didn’t ask us to figure out all of life’s problems; Jesus didn’t ask us to ponder theology or to decide what we believe on every social issue. Jesus didn’t ask people to become intelligent enough to debate people into a corner. He asked us to love people.

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. 1 Corinthians: 1-3

It amazes me how people who talk about liking Jesus, don’t love. I see this all the time. It isn’t that they are bad people, but that they have been misguided into believing that there is something more important than love. Some amount of intelligence, some type of ability or perhaps the wisdom to know just who is and isn’t going to hell. Sadly, for these people this isn’t the case.

For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you. John 13:15

The clearest thing in scripture is that we are called to love.  Jesus didn’t ask you to do or know any lists of right and wrongs or to know any theology.  Jesus asked you to love.

Theology and knowledge can’t save you, and they wont save anyone else. Only love can save.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 1 John: 7-11 

This issue is very close to my heart, this is the biggest flaw in “modern Christianity.” It’s time to stop wasting time pondering unanswerable questions and debating ancient passages.  It’s time to start loving.

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you” John 15:12

 

 

One thought on “Try Love

Leave a Reply

