Incorrect

Have you ever used Microsoft Word and typed in your name, first or last, and the little red squiggly line appears under it? The incorrect spelling line comes up when I type in my last name every time. I have yet to hit “ignore all” because it reminds me of something. I’ll get to that later.

So many of us can be let down by the slightest things or feel like we don’t belong. Whether it be a glance that you receive or how you consider a comment that was made. At least once in everyone’s lives we have felt this way. I want to tell you that you fit. You fit in this place that we live in.

Paul writes in Galatians 3:28: “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” (NIV)

You fit in the story of Christ. We are all equal in God’s eyes non greater or lesser.

Paul writes again in Corinthians 12:12: “Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.” (NIV)

You are or can be a part of Christ’s body. There is a place for you. No matter what you do.

So if you ever feel alone or that you don’t fit. You do. I promise.

To finish what I was saying earlier about the red line, I use to feel like since my name wasn’t in Word that I wasn’t and would never be significant. Silly, I know, but now I know and I want you to know that we are significant.

Everyone is.

Not just the people who don’t get that red line. While they are still significant. So are we. God has a plan for each of us. It’s up to us if we choose to accept it. He is waiting with open arms to embrace you fully. It’s a place of refuge, a process of learning, and a lifestyle of humbling.

I keep the red line there to remember who I am. It’s small but it’s significant. Just like you and I.

“For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures, and that he appeared to Cephas, and then to the Twelve.” 1 Corinthians 15:3-5 (NIV)

One thought on “Incorrect

  1. This is awesome! My first name is Gerard so I’ve endured the red line for 48 years! Oh, and forget about ever finding anything in a gift shop with my name! But I know Christ knows my name, which I too have come to find is the only thing that matters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

