Coffee stains on the New Testament

I talked a little bit about my dad in my last post. Let’s talk about my mom. My mom is 40 years old and one of the kindest, most selfless women I’ve ever met. She makes a mean crock pot meal and some killer chocolate chip cookies, all while maintaining some huge southern belle hair, a full face of makeup, and a great figure. YOU GO MOMMA RUNION. YOU GO.

More important than my mom’s physical, let’s face it, hotness, is how pretty her heart is. Like I said, my mom is so kind and beyond selfless. She takes care of not only myself, but my three little brothers, plus my dad with a smile on her face (even when we’re annoying. Sorry, Mom) If I’m being real, my mom is the reason my faith really took a kick start. It is astonishing to me how full her heart is with Jesus.

When I was, I want to say, maybe 16 (?) my mom gave me the Bible she had been using for quite a few years because she bought a new one. It’s one of those super snazzy study Bibles with notes and maps and things. This one is even cooler though because most of the New Testament is covered in a coffee stain. How trendy. Seeing the coffee stain is a reminder to me though, of how many places my mom’s Bible has been, and how many times I had seen her open it on the daily.

John 3|30 says that “He must become greater; I must become less.”

I read this and I get this mental image of my mom. Every night before I moved to Grace Bible College, I would walk into my parents’ bedroom to tell them goodnight and I would always see the same thing: my mom on her side of the bed, bible in her lap, cup of coffee leaning on her side. Even with every responsibility as a mom, a part time college student, and an employee elsewhere, my mom took that time out of her night to be with Jesus, to immerse herself in his word.

The point is, though, that even in her every day, my mom is making Jesus greater. We should be making Jesus greater in our every day as well. Take your bible to the commons of your school, read in between doing homework or something for your job.

I’m not saying all of this to preach at you. Even with my mom as an example as I was growing up, I still struggle with getting into The Word every day. If this is a struggle for you, you are most definitely not alone, my friend.

I know the realities of scripture being God breathed. I know the power that it holds. But sometimes, man, do I get bored of reading it. It pains me that that is a reality for myself and for so many other people that I know. This is just one thing that I myself continue to pray about. I pray for patience and I pray for an open heart to receive God’s word, even if I’m not apt to read it sometimes.

I encourage you to pray for the same next time you go to open your Bible, whether yours is covered in coffee or not.

 

“With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! I have stored up your word in my heart that I may not sin against you.”

-Psalm 119|10-11

One thought on “Coffee stains on the New Testament

Leave a Reply

