Channel your Inner Outdoorsman

I grew up with quite the outdoorsman as a dad. (He’s the guy in the photo above!) My family camps, we hike, and my dad, my little brothers and even my mom go hunting whenever they get the chance. I’ve had a love for being outside instilled in me from the very beginning. I would sell my left arm to be hiking through the Red River Gorge in eastern Kentucky right now rather than be sitting in my dimly lit dorm room. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that being outside, surrounded by creation, is my happy place. I feel the presence of God there more than anywhere.

I was reading through Psalms for a devotional that I’m going through and came across this:

“The Heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the end of the world.”

-Psalm 19|1-4

The voice of God rings so clearly through creation. Creation shouts the loving and artistic nature of our Father.

My lumber jack of a dad says he enjoys being outside because “Being outdoors is often times the most pure connection we can have with God. In unmolested areas of wilderness untouched by the hand of man we see His good work without the influence of sin. I always leave more at peace than when I arrived. “And I completely agree with him. There is such an element of peacefulness to being outside.

Looking up at the sky, down at the grass, and around at the trees is seeing the fingerprint of God. Isn’t that so overwhelmingly beautiful?

I challenge you to bundle up and take a walk today. Go outside. Take a deep breathe. Channel your inner outdoorsman. Look around you and experience The Lord. The King is among us and His voice is clear.

2 thoughts on “Channel your Inner Outdoorsman

Leave a Reply

