Lets Take A Look Series #2: “Your Direction”

“But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” James 1:5

 

Where have you been?  Where are you going?  How are you getting there?  

Direction is a thing that can be very hard to see or find, even though it’s the way everyone is going.  Some people use a GPS, others use an old school compass, yet others seem to find alternative means to get to the places they want to go, or rather need to go.  

I would call myself, sort of a new Christian. Having my rough times as a teenage boy, I came to know Christ when I was 16 years old. My passion is music and that is what I wanted to pursue. I knew this since I was 13 years old. I didn’t know what, but I knew I needed to have music as a career.  My direction was unknown, but I knew where I was going.  

That’s how we approach a lot of our ambitions and dreams.  We all know where we are going, yet getting there seems to be a bit questionable.  How can we know where we are going, without some direction?

 

 

Once again, I had a quite different experience growing up than Jake. My father had his position in the church and as kids we went on missions trips and to evangelism youth conferences. My older sister has felt called to be a missionary for at least eight years, and my younger brother knows what he is called to do. He is already living it out as a youth leader in our church.

But me? I’m sure you know where this is going by now. Nothing, I had no clue how I would be called by God. And I still have no idea. Don’t get me wrong, I have some thoughts because of how He is opening up opportunities in my life right now, but I still don’t know just yet.

I haven’t really felt called to anything because of my lack of spiritual habits. I have been struggling to read my Bible and pray more, but with everything that I’m learning in my classes I finally believe that I can “hear” God calling me.

I’m learning that I need to seek His guidance for honestly everything that I do. I am less stressed because I go to my Father in prayer . I do get frustrated and stressed first, but then I take a step back and realize it, and that’s when I talk to God. With my schedule for next semester and the changes that He is leading me towards, I am excited to where God intends to use me. I just need to seek His guidance because otherwise I try to take control and things fall apart.

I need to ask Him for the wisdom to know his path for me and for the strength to take the first step down that path.

Right now I am asking for courage to step out and take hold of the opportunity for a new job that is opening up for me. Simply coming to God in prayer to ask for help, wisdom, courage, strength, whatever you may need, is the first step in finding your direction. Simply come to God in prayer and he will guide you.

 

I will ask you this again.  

Where have you been?  Where are you going?  How are you getting there?

No matter where you have been, God has a path for you. I have been to the cross roads.  You may be like where I am, and have a good sense of direction where God wants me, or you may be more like Alex and still searching for answers, or may be  you think that since you have been down the wrong path, that you are useless, that you have no future that has anything to do God and what He wants.  “I messed up too much.”  

                          No.

God has the power to forgive you, no matter where you are.  You might have come from a road destined to Hell, but anything given to God has the chance at glory.  

Where are you going?  Maybe you think you need to go into ministry, or a mission, and be the hands and feet of the Gospel.  While that is an incredible opportunity to have, the ministry field is not for everyone.  The most incredible men that I have met, and ones who i can see who is devoted to the faith and ministry, is a sex educator, or a fireman, or a coffeehouse manager.  

God call us all to spread the love and grace of Jesus Christ.

Just because you are not a pastor or a missionary, does not mean you can not show the love and light of Christ to someone who needs it.  You may be looking for God’s direction in your life, but as Christians, God calls us all to show the love and be a reflection of Christ’s love.   

 

Matthew 5:13-14 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.

 

How are you getting there? Where do you start in this journey?  What is God’s direction in your life?  The one answer I will give you may sound cliche, but in all things, we must start in prayer.  Pray for the direction God wants you to go.  You will find you answer soon enough, just have faith that god will send you in the right direction.

You don’t need to be a pastor to share Christ, and you don’t need a founded ministry to make a difference in someone’s life.  Make your life and your interactions with people a ministry, and whatever your direction may be, make sure that your compass points toward God.  

Leave a Reply

