thankful for silver linings

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV)

“I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify him with thanksgiving.” Psalm 69:30 (ESV)

I am thankful for bad hair days. They exist because I have hair. I don’t have cancer. I don’t have to endure chemotherapy. Thank you, Lord.

I am thankful for having trouble losing weight. It means that I have an abundance of food to eat. I am not starving or needing to beg for a meal. Thank you, Christ. 

I am thankful for explosive, poopy diapers. They exist because I have a healthy 5 month old. He wasn’t stillborn; he was (and still is) beautiful. Thank you, Jesus. 

I am thankful for whiny, disobedient behavior from my 3 year old. It exists because I have been blessed with a perfectly developed boy who is healthy and blesses us daily with his existence. It also means that his behavior is noticeable because it isn’t the norm but the exception. Thank you, Father.

I am thankful for picking up my husband’s dirty socks left on the floor. It means that I am married to a man who works to provide for me so I can stay home doing what I love- raising my children and taking care of our home (even if it involves picking up socks!). He has stuck through the hard times and many more of my annoyances (many that are way worse than dirty socks!). Thank you, God.

I am thankful for stressful days. It means I have something about which to stress. I have a life worth living. Thank you, my King.

I am thankful for not one moment’s peace at the grocery store. It means that my 3 year old is an intelligent sweetie who just wants to talk to me about literally everything. Thank you, Jehovah.

I know these aren’t the normal things we think about to be grateful for, but I feel it is important to ponder them anyway. We need to praise God in the storms of life- not just the large storms where we have to actively decide to praise Him and reach for him- but also in the everyday miniature storms that trip us up and make us irritated. Thanksgiving is a great time to thank God for all the wonderful things He gives and does for us, but it is also a great time to find things to be grateful for in every area, even the seemingly bad ones. We would like to hear from you! If you feel so inclined, please write some offbeat, “not of the norm” thing for which you are thankful to God. Let’s thank God and praise Him this Thanksgiving Day as well as every day despite the circumstances. Happy Thanksgiving!

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.” James 1:2-3 (ESV)

“Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise.” James 5:13 (ESV)

“Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!” Psalm 100:4 (ESV)

10 thoughts on “thankful for silver linings

  1. I am thankful for my dog, Abby, who can drive me crazy wanting to go out, then three minutes later wants back in! It means she is a faithful companion who sticks by my side. Through sickness, busyness, and when I plain rude. Thank You Jesus for blessing me with a friend, who loves me like You, unconditionally. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome. I just back down from letting her back in, again! 🙂 While I was doing that, I thought, I don’t think I have ever seen “your” blog before. “I think I will check it out!” Thankful for a new friend in my neighborhood:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

