Rant #2

Excuse my rant I’ve been having a lot of these lately. If this enrages you then feel free to stop reading or throw your stones doesn’t really bother me. As I’ve been walking out my Christian faith I’ve been seeing a bunch of arguing, arguing over things I had no idea people argued about. Yes I understand people aren’t perfect and we all have our faults, trust me I probably have more faults than anyone else and I’ve had my share of arguments. This isn’t meant to call people out just sharing what’s on my heart. I’ve been a follower of Christ for about 2 years now and I’ve been seeing a lot of arguing on denominational beliefs. As I walk around I see churches being divided over open handed arguments such as baptism, spiritual gifts, the year the church started, ways of worship, and size of churches.

To me this is a bunch of bull crap (sorry a little passionate). Did Jesus really go through all that pain and punishment for us to argue about these sort of things did Jesus willingly give up his perfection so we could be divide over things like how “Worship” should be done in the confine of a church walls?  No he didn’t (1 Corinthians 1:10). There needs to be unity between us. If you can say “I don’t associate with that church because they believe in spiritual gifts” than you have to do a serious heart check because your breaking that bond. We are the church (Ephesians 1:22-23) (1 Corinthians 12:13). We need to start acting like we’re all part of the same body, enough with this division. Why are we fighting each other when we’re all brothers and sisters in Christ? Yes I understand that we’re all going to have different doctrinal/theological beliefs but if you consider yourself a bible believing Christian than why let those divide you. We can get Gods great commission done more effectively if we put down our pride and work together like we were originally intended to do (Matthew 28: 16-20).

How does us fighting help others come to Christ? We are commissioned to go out and spread the good news not fight each other. Ephesians 6:12 says For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places”. Let’s not give Satan the satisfaction of seeing us divide each others.

7 thoughts on “Rant #2

  1. Keep the passion, just don’t let your passion reduce your love. I’ve found myself frustrated so many times and would eventually start to lose my love because of it. We must remember that Satan will work anywhere that people give him a foothold, even church.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your frustration is justified. When I was younger I would be overcome with anger and sadness over the divisions. I too hate conflict… I always have.

    I beg you to consider a few things in the midst of your discouragement.

    One is that much division stems from people not behaving like Christians. Christians should debate and discuss, but remember who the real enemy is. We need to band together against Satan.

    Second, there are people out there who willfully blind themselves to the truth of the scriptures and lead many away from God. We have to fight against this and sometimes it can get rough.

    Finally, we are exhorted to contend earnestly for the faith. Sometimes this contention has to be within the church because people want to conform the church to the world instead of transforming the world to come to God.

    Hang in there my friend. The apostle Paul got discouraged about such things too. Guard your heart against this and immerse yourself in God’s Word.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. sometimes we get Christian issues mixed up with human experiences. when people take out their sharpies and start to draw lines of their perfect church , they are only drawing a reflection of themselves. I don’t mean to say that rudely or over righteously
    but truly how we act and rec act on earth is from what our minds and emotions have recorded from the first time and plays it over and over until our minds cement it and think there is no other existence outside our walls of security.

    so I understand and at times share your frustration
    though we may never see the day every person and Christian to be unified singlary I do believe it helps to anchor what our base emotions and persective is to our own faith and let the glary be filled with different pieces our art.

    Our God doesn’t paint in one colour neither should we.

    Altar&Well

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been a Christian for over 20 years and this has also frustrated me at times. I think what we need to remember is, Satan will use anyone or anything he can to divide and weaken the church. Now more then ever we need to stand unity and stand firm in our faith and spread the word of Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

