Once Paralyzed. 

When I look at my life I’m always reminded of my middle school days.  Most people will admit that junior high was really awkward. Puberty was rough on me. I was  constantly smelly because I never showered, I was in love with every girl that walked by, I squeaked at least 500 times a day, I grew hair in ungodly places, and I was really weird. Like overly weird. I thought the Peanut Butter Jelly Time song was the funniest thing in the world…

We’ve all been through awkward stages in life. Maybe for some it was their early elementary days when they would throw tantrums and hit their teachers with toy blocks. Or maybe it was early high school where your braces hindered any type of relationship with a girl. Or maybe it’s right now…like me…I got awkward in middle school and it never left. 

Life always throws us some awkward times. Even Jesus faced unusual situations throughout the bible. Today we’re going to read about one. 

In Luke 5:17-26 we see Jesus teaching in a house to a group of people. These two dudes approach the house, with them is a paralyzed guy on a mat. They wanted Jesus to heal their paralyzed buddy, but they couldn’t get through the crowd…so what did they do? 

“When they could not find a way to do this because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and lowered him on his mat through the tiles into the middle of the crowd, right in front of Jesus.” (‭‭Luke‬ ‭5:19‬ ‭NIV‬‬)

Okay hold up. Everyone read this over. Picture Jesus in a house teaching and being super rad, when all of a sudden you look up and there’s some dudes removing the tiles to the house. Next thing you know there’s another dude on a mat being brought down from the roof. Do you understand how insane this sounds? Who in their right mind would decide, “oh hey I got an idea…let’s climb the roof, cut a big ol’ hole, and drop our buddy through the roof!” “Oh ya Jeff that’s a great idea.”

Jesus is surprisingly gracious toward the friends who just ruined the roof of this house. He heals the paralyzed man and tells Him that his sins are forgiven. 

This story amazes me. In the middle of the greatest narrative this world has ever read stands two guys trying to do the best that they can to bring their hopeless buddy to the feet of Jesus. 

When I look at the paralyzed man I realize something…that paralyzed man used to be me. I was once helpless, lost, and paralyzed by my sin. My body was useless because I was using it for myself. My insecurities were constantly beating my mind into submission. My life was worthless.

But then my friends picked me up. They cared for me, they loved me, and they carried my paralyzed body to the feet of Jesus. Even though there were obstacles in the way, like my selfish pride, my friends still got up and over the crowd. And eventually Christ washed me of my sin and I was finally healed. 

We were all once paralyzed, but someone brought us to the healer. 

We all have different stories on how we found Christ, but think back to the people who helped lead you to Jesus. We all have that one spiritual leader who has helped turn our life around. 

So now that we’re free from the bondage of sin, we should go out and find those paralyzed people and help bring them to Christ. Be the two friends from this story. Seek the lost out, care for them, love them, and carry them over every obstacle and bring them to Jesus. Don’t evangelize because you feel obligated. Evangelize because you genuinely love someone and want them to be saved. 

Only Jesus can save them. Only Jesus can save us. Only Jesus can save this world. 

The world needs healing. So grab the sick, grab the hurt, grab the paralyzed, and bring them to the healer. 

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.”( ‭‭Romans‬ ‭1:16‬ ‭NIV‬‬)

“He (Jesus) said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.”(‭‭Mark‬ ‭16:15‬ ‭NIV‬‬)

So I have a challenge for all of my readers. Ask yourself, “do I have any friends that are unbelievers?” And if you’re answer is no then ask yourself this, “what can I do to change that?”

If you see any other awkward bible stories let me know! I’d love to make jokes and write about them too. I also want to know when your awkward moments in life were. Follow us on Twitter: @notofthenorm, Facebook: Facebook.com/notofthenorm, or email: notofthenorm.wordpress@gmail.com

I love you dudes, but more importantly, Jesus loves you dudes. 

One thought on “Once Paralyzed. 

Leave a Reply

