Come Forth as Gold.

I’m going to write about something that makes me uncomfortable today.

Temptation.

It makes me uncomfortable because I feel like I struggle with temptation more than most people. I feel like there has been times in my life when my temptations are all I can think about, and that’s usually when I give into them. My problem is, I try to handle temptations on my own, because even though temptation alone isn’t a sin, it makes me feel dirty. I don’t like to bring my temptations to God because I don’t want to admit that I have an urge to sin. But he all ready knows, so my logic is whack and I understand that.

I decided I would do a study about temptation in the bible and see what I could come up with. What I found was freeing, helpful, and true. I discovered that everyone deals with temptation, even Jesus did, and temptation is talked about quite a bit in the bible, and through the reading of scripture, prayer, and the Holy Spirit, we can overcome temptation.

What exactly is temptation? The googles have informed me that temptation is “A desire to do something, especially something wrong or unwise.”

Temptation looks different for everyone. I often get tempted with old sins that have become habitual: selfishness, lust, laziness, and stubbornness, to name a few. Like I said before, I don’t like to bring my temptations before God because I feel like I can handle things on my own. Well I can’t– it never works. Every time I try to handle my own desires I always give into them and unfortunately asking for God’s help hasn’t always been my first thought. I pray that will change though, especially after reading scripture about temptation.

I’m going to explain what I found in the Bible, but most of these verses I am going to put into my own words. I would encourage you to look them up yourself and read them.

1 Corinthians 12:13 says that we will be tempted but God always provides an escape and He gives us strength to endure it.

Hebrews 4:15 says Jesus can sympathize with our weaknesses because He was a man and was also tempted. Therefore, we can come to God with confidence that He will help us in our time of need.

Hebrews 2:18 say that because Jesus was tempted, He can help us when we are tempted.

James 1:2-4 says that when (not if) we are tempted, use it as a time to grow your faith. Faith produces endurance. Through enduring trials, we will be made complete.

1 Peter 5:8-10 warns us to watch out for the devil, because he will try to tempt us and he is waiting to devour us. But take heart and remember brothers and sisters who have made it through temptations and endured. God will perfect, conform, strengthen, and establish us.

This last verse I will quote from the Bible because it’s just too good and beautiful to not.

Job 23:10-12 “But He knows the way I take; When He has tried me, I shall come forth as gold. My foot has held fast to his path; I have kept His way and not turned aside. I have not departed from the command of His lips; I have treasured the words of His mouth my necessary food.”

If you know the story of Job’s life then you know how amazing these verses are. Job went through so many trials and temptations and brought it all to God. I want to be able to say that when I am tempted I will come forth as gold, I won’t turn away, and that I have treasured the words of God more than my food. That is my prayer after studying how to handle temptation from the Bible.

So to wrap this up I just want to remind anyone who is like me that doesn’t like to bring our dirty temptations to God to get out of that mindset. God became a man and had to deal with temptation just like us, and because of that He will help us through it if we ask. Through our temptations and trials we will grow in our faith if we endure and the only way to endure is to hold onto God and pray to him– maybe go and read the scriptures I’ve listed. Once we have endured we will be made perfect, God will strengthen us and establish us.

We will come forth as Gold.

13 thoughts on “Come Forth as Gold.

  1. I have learned how to bring it to God just the way it is. that is my own way of dealing with it. when I feel like I want to go out there and mess up, I tell Him, “Help me Lord because I’m about to mess up real bad…”

    Like

  2. Do you see Job as an actual person or do you see the story as allegorical? For me, Job reads more like a morality play.

    Like

  3. “We will come forth as Gold.” I love that! What a beautiful thing it is to know that God is always working in our lives, even through temptation, making us more and more Christ-like, more and more like who He created us to be. Thank you for this post and God bless you in your walk with Him.

    Like

  4. I don’t know your level of temptation for sure, but from how you briefly describe it, it sounds just like my struggle. Rest assured, you are not alone with the powerful waves that wash over you…they do me, as well.

    Good stuff here!

    Like

  5. Everyone struggles! It’s a huge lie of the enemy to make us feel like the one freak in the church who does 😉 I do think it is so commendable that you are a very young guy looking for answers in the Word…and helping others to do likewise!

    Like

  6. This is a really good read Nae!
    I like the way you use your experience and refer back to scripture; it’s important to understand that as human it is inevitable to not be tempted no matter how hard we try, however it’s also very important to know that Jesus is there for us always, despite our thinking he is the only one who can save, renew our hearts, mind and soul. Let us believers learn to lean on God more than our own understanding.

    Don’t stop writing, stay encouraged!

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on Carmina Corde: Songs of the Heart and commented:
    When we think of the word temptation we want to shift our eyes to see who might be looking… its a scary word, a bad word… one we want to pretend exists only in the realm of delicious cakes that make us fat, not the sins that blacken our souls and separate us from God. That’s reality my friends. That is what sin does. The following is a good study on temptation that I thought I’d share. Follow their blog, its usually pretty spot on!

    Like

  8. I really like the focus on Jesus being tempted like us. His humanity makes Him more divine not less. He identifies with us and even empathizes. Thank you for your transparency.

    Like

  9. The enemy LOVES to make us feel so uncomfortable and ashamed of temptation that we don’t even feel like opening up to the Lord about it and asking Him for help. The ironic thing is, the Lord already knows our minds and hearts. He is our Father. If my children needed help with some struggle in their lives, I could only HOPE they would come to me in honesty and trust. He delights in your choice to turn to him. Great, honest post. Keep leaning on Him!

    Like

  10. A very good honest treatment of such a sensitive topic. Our temptations are real; a true reflection of our fallen state–though saved. But thank God He gives us the power to triumph over temptations and sin. Bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

