Quiet Your Mind.

I came across a verse today– and now, so have you.

“Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him.” -Psalm 62:5

Read it again, slowly and aloud.

We don’t have to rush our lives– contrary to popular belief . It’s a tendency you have to fight.

It’s when we rush from place to place, obligation to obligation, that we lose ourselves. We lose sight of our relationships, our health, the beauty of the world, and so much more. I’ve especially found that I’ve lost sight of my own inner silence. I was dismayed to discover that I couldn’t find that tranquility even when I made a concentrated effort.

My fellow NoTN blogger, Dean Drew, shares the same opinions on a lot of things. This sort of “haste disease” is one of them. Although I would love to talk to you about it myself, I’m sure that he would as well.

Like many things, knowing and admitting you have a problem is the first step in finding a solution. In all honesty, if you’re an American without this problem, you’re a rare breed indeed. But for the rest of us, we can either be an asset, or a hindrance to one another.

To quiet your mind is to be reminded of the beauty of the world, and to invite the Artist in.

I’ve found that, because my mind is so accustomed to constant, external stimulation that when I’m not actively doing something, my mind is still racing. Generally speaking, this is not a good thing. Instead of being able to relax, I’m bombarded with irrational fears, insecurities, and the like. This is a realization I’ve come to just in the duration of writing this post. It’s difficult to focus on glorifying and drawing close to God when you’re constantly being seduced by the forces of darkness.

I believe that if we practiced the discipline of quieting ourselves (especially before God), that we would be more aware of God’s omnipresence, deeper in love with his beauty, stronger in the face of temptation, and increasingly focused on pursuing the Lord’s heart and wisdom.

The world around us is always feeding us something new, but our hearts and minds are desperate, quietly begging for a time of rest with your Savior; it is only in him that we are satisfied.

24 thoughts on “Quiet Your Mind.

  1. Very inspiring and convicting for me all at the same time. As St. Augustine once remarked, “You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.”

    Like

  2. Beautiful post, Erin.

    I have often wondered if our struggles with depression and anxiety are linked with our high-stimulus society. We always have some thing (smart phone, tablet, laptop etc) to distract our mind from the present. Our mind never gets the opportunity to refresh itself. I wonder if a day of “unplugging” once a week would help.

    I also like the phrase “quiet your mind.” Elisabeth Elliot often spoke of having “quiet time” or finding a “quiet place” in her books.

    Like

  3. This is so true! I’ve recently taken a liking to watering the lawn without the sprinklers. It provides me with some quiet time to meditate and think about how awesome God is! I hated it when I was younger, but I find it to be very therapeutic now that I’m older…

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It’s exactly the word I needed this moment. I have been like Martha consumed with the tyranny of the urgent while Jesus is present and has a word, is the Word, I so desperately need to hear. I need to still myself and just listen.

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on janjoy52 and commented:
    Living in a world with deadlines and time fences it’s easy to get distracted and exhausted and fretful like the disciples in the boat with Jesus asleep in the storm while they were bailing furiously lest they drown. Here is just the word I needed today. I hope you share the refreshment, encouragement and comfort I experienced as you read along.

    Like

  6. one time , during my worship time, God shared with me how often people wait for Him to announce Himself in Noise or proclamation! But yet, if we read in Revelations…it says that When God made himself known – all of heaven was SILENT for a HALF HOUR.

    see, there is something in a holy – hush.

    that is what i’m working towards…when His silence stills us.

    great blog entry!
    Altar&Well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, gracious, no. You’re certainly not alone in this. This last summer I’ve realized how much I bow down to fear. It’s discouraging– but only if I let it be. Instead, I would rather choose to think about how much more God can grow me. If I’ve see what he’s used me for even in this season with so much struggle, it’s insane to imagine how much more he can use me in the future, when perhaps this struggle will be behind me. We can never be perfect, and we’ll always have struggles; this means that we will always have room to grow. What a blessing, that God is never done with us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

