Meet the NOTN Crew : Jacob Betts

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all of creation will be able to separate us from the Love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Romans 8:38-39

The most beautifully overwhelming thing in my life is the work of the Hand of God. It’s one of those things that most of the time I don’t even realize until I look back. I am in awe when I see how events, situations, and circumstances in my life have all led up to the point and how they’ve shaped me into the person I am now. I’m amazed when I look at the chaos around and see how God can form order out of it all. I know in the end that He has had this plan of order-out-of-chaos since before the dawn of time.

I don’t remember the exact date or time, but I know I asked Jesus to come into my heart when I was four years old. In the time since then, God has done incredible things in and through my life that I could never have done without him. I do not know where I would be without God, my family, and two wonderful churches that I’ve attended in the time since. Chronic diseases, severe head injuries, uncertainty…these are not the things that make up my story. What makes my story is the immense Grace I’ve been shown through it all.

God has also given me a deep passion for music. If you spend any time at all around me, you won’t struggle to see that! I enjoy both composing and listening to music. On the composition side of things, I play guitar (acoustic and electric), piano, ukulele, mandolin, cajon, and djembe! The Lord has blessed me with the ability to play all of these things and one of my favorite things in this world is to use them to make music that reflects his beauty.

On the listening side of things, I have many bands and musicians that I enjoy listening to, but just ask anyone who’s spent a day around me and they’ll be able to tell you my absolute favorite is Switchfoot. The lyrics that lead singer Jon Foreman has written resonate with my soul more than any other musician I’ve heard thus far. Other bands and musicians that I love include Kings Kaleidoscope, Gungor, NEETOBREATHE, John Mayer, and Coldplay. I’m a big fan of alternative rock that has a west coast ambient feel as well as something that has a good ol’ guitar solo in it.

I am originally from the small town of Houghton Lake, Michigan, but now reside in the beautiful Wyoming, Michigan where I also am studying for a bachelor’s degree in Worship Arts. Every day of life I have is one more day that God is using to teach me to be more like His son. I hope you can continue to join me as I write about this journey.

7 thoughts on “Meet the NOTN Crew : Jacob Betts

  1. So you follow the “make a joyful noise unto the Lord” quite literally! I feel the same way. Played just about every clarinet that exists. Have played the baritone sax, bass drums, bugles, xylophone, piano, tried the trombone once in high school because our band needed one. My arms were too short. Helped my baby brother learn how to play the tuba , which meant I had to learn how to play it! Was not as fun as the bugle. If my uncle’s bugle hadn’t been damaged when his house caught fire, who know, I may have written it into our high school band’s music!
    Jeanette Hall

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great article, I feel your love for the LORD shining through and through! You are one musically talented man – WOW! That really is a lot of different instruments. I’ve always had a love for music myself, grew up playing in the marching band all through school. Now I love to play acoustic, electric and bass guitar.
    Keep on keepin’ on Praising our King! He inhabits the Praise of His people! ;))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

