“I want to lose my voice for You”….or do I?

As I was sitting in chapel last semester on a brisk March morning, listening to all of the voices surrounding me singing the words “I want to lose my voice for You…”, The words of A.W. Tozer came to mind. Tozer said

 “Christians don’t tell lies, but they’ll go to church and sing them.”

We have to keep this in mind when the words of various worship songs are coming out of our mouths; Do we really and truly mean what we’re singing? Do we “Want to lose our voice” for God? Take a moment and read the lyrics of these popular worship songs –

“Where You go, I’ll go. Where You stay, I’ll stay. When You move, I’ll move. I will follow You.” – (Chris Tomlin, “I Will Follow”)

“We won’t stay silent anymore” (Tim Hughs, “Won’t Stay Silent”)

“We’re giving it all away. We’re giving it all to go Your way.” (UNITED, “Go”)

“There’s nothing we want more than to live for You God.” (UNITED, “Nova”)

“Like a rushing wind, Jesus breathe within. Lord have Your way in me. Like a mighty storm, stir within my soul. Lord have Your way in me. I surrender. I surrender. I want to know You more.” (Hillsong LIVE, “I surrender”)

How about these lyrics? You’re certain to know them –

  “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters wherever you would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith would be made stronger, in the presence of my Savior.” (UNITED, “Oceans”)

When I sing these, do I really mean what I’m singing? Am I prepared to “give it all away”? To say “Lord, have Your way in me”, to “give it all away”, because “there’s nothing we want more than to live for You, God”? As a worship leader, I have to stop at times and ask myself these questions about the songs I’m singing.

Most of us have sung worship songs that we didn’t fully comprehend. Some of us might have even sat around a youth group bonfire and sung some of the words listed above and not actually meant it. My mind goes back to just last year to my home church when we introduced “Oceans” to our congregation. Sure, we all sang along with passion and feeling. Did I really mean what I was singing?

My answer to that is found in my reaction/experience with emotional turmoil right before I uprooted myself from a little tourist town to the largest city in the entire state to go to college! If I’m honest with myself, I didn’t want to go! If you asked me back in August of 2014 if I wanted to go to college, I would most certainly say “No!”. It’s not that I didn’t want to pursue an education in a field of which I am super passionate about, it wasn’t even the idea of school that was tugging at my heart.

It was a fear of the unknown.

Fear of what would happen if I stepped out of my comfort zone.

I decided to throw myself off of the firm and steady ground of complacency and into the Hands of God.

That is a scary thought isn’t it? Taking that leap off of steady ground into unknown territory? I can tell you in the time since last August, God has done more miraculous things than I could have ever imagined. I’ve had the privilege of learning more about Him, about music, and about other people. I’ve even had the opportunity to go to New York City with a missions team for a week during spring break. That alone was one of the most incredible experiences I’ve had in my life, but that’s for another time and blog post! 😉

I leave you with this bit that I hope is an encouragement to anyone who is wrestling with the chance to take a leap of faith – Keep on singing those songs.
Digest those words and challenge yourself on a daily basis.
God has you in His arms and He won’t let you go. He has a plan for your life and wants to use it for the advancement of His Kingdom! As one of my professors says “He has already taken the exam called “Life” and written in all of the correct answers. There’s no need to worry about it. You can live, enjoy, and let Him use you.”

7 thoughts on ““I want to lose my voice for You”….or do I?

  1. This is spot-on. While reading Francis Chan’s “Crazy Love” this morning, I saw how much God’s power could shine through the church if we truly believed in what we say. Why commit ourselves to being “Christians” if we’re not going to fully immerse ourselves in what it means to be a follower of Christ?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Lori's World

Leave a Reply

