Once Orphans.

I remember in middle school being told that I was adopted. In this case, I wasn’t offended, worried, terrified, surprised, or embarrassed. I actually was pretty mad. The moment made me upset and angry at the same time. It made me worry about something I didn’t want to worry about. Most of you will be thinking that my adopted parents gave me this news, but it actually wasn’t. It was a punk kid trying to annoy me. I really wasn’t adopted, I was just the punchline of a cruel joke.

This rude attempt into angering me was not the first time I’ve been told I was adopted. For some reason telling other kids that they’re adopted seemed to be a trend for awhile. It started as the hipster of jokes and turned into a popular thing. Then the hipster bullies moved onto your mom jokes, until that became popular too.

It’s funny how being called adopted used to be offensive. We knew we weren’t adopted, but we were still offended. Actually adoption is a very rad thing in the bible.  

Romans 8:14-15 says, “For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” 

We’ve been told that we are “sons and daughters” of Christ. Well…that is true, but we are adopted into Him.

We were once orphans. Orphans that were slaves. Slaves to sin. Slaves to the world. Slaves to our past condemnation. We were forced to live without hope, without life, without a purpose. Then Someone gave us a way out. This Someone wanted us to be with Him. He wanted us to live life as His child, and all we had to do was accept His love and believe in Him.

The adoption part is so important. It shows that Jesus wants us. He wants a relationship with us. He wants to adopt us. He doesn’t want us to be slaves and be afraid of life. He doesn’t want us to go on living the way that we are. He wants to bring us into His arms. He wants to show us His compassion, love, mercy, and grace.

When you’re adopted into God, He’s never letting you go.

This beautiful adoption process begins with true faith, and continues through the rest of your life. Jesus gives us a new life. A new life allows us to transform. He gives us comfort from our problems. He brings hope for the future. He loves us so much that He’s never going to stop loving us.

Jesus has adopted us, so don’t bite the hand that feeds. This new life is not a get out of jail free card. It doesn’t allow you to sin just because you’ll be forgiven. The adoption is a gift. It’s a blessing that God has given to us so graciously. We don’t deserve to be adopted by God, we don’t even deserve the life that we were given, but that’s how much He loves us. Jesus loves us through our past mistakes, our present failures, and our future mess ups.

So live for Him. Live to love Him. Live to do what is right. Live to serve others. Live to love everyone in the world. And do it all for His glory.

Next time someone says, “you’re adopted” don’t be offended. They’re just being an unoriginal punk. Plus if you wanna throw some Christianese at them, you can tell them that you are an adopted child through Christ. But they might call you lame…so you do you…

Love you dudes, but more importantly, Jesus loves you dudes. If you want to connect like our facebook page at facebook.com/notofthenorm, or follow us on twitter @NotoftheNorm. If you wanna chat or give us advice on what to write about next email us at notofthenorm.wordpress@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Once Orphans.

  1. Punk kids live to offend, don’t you think? We just have to shake it off and move on. I once heard that the best revenge is a life well lived. I believe that’s true. Great post on an important topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The only answer I used to have to the abuse I received, was that I had been adopted. No way could a man sodomize and rape his daughter. Use to pray to God to let me meet the man who had actually sired me. Unfortunately, every new discovery into the strange way I respond to different parts of my life like the strange ways my toes behave pretty well proves he is my father. Even the fact I can’t handle cold drinks because it hurts my teeth I get from my father!
    Jeanette Hall

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not only does God adopt us in the spiritual sense, but the Bible is clear in James 1:27 about the necessity of caring for orphans here on earth. That is the love of Christ lived out. Kids can be so cruel- goes to show we are born sinners. Praise Jesus for adoption spiritually and here on Earth!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “So live for Him. Live to love Him. Live to do what is right. Live to serve others. Live to love everyone in the world. And do it all for His glory.”
    I love this statement so much. It is what my heart has been trying to tell me for so long.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for this great post, another reminder of God’s unconditional love. This line especially resonated with me: ” Jesus loves us through our past mistakes, our present failures, and our future mess ups.” So well said.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

