The Theology of Patch Adams.

This week I watched the movie Patch Adams. I recommend it to everyone. It definitely is in my top 5 favorite movies. (and it’s on Netflix so…def go watch it)

Hunter “Patch” Adams is a doctor who is trying to change the world of medicine. He uses humor, compassion, and genuine friendship as a tool to help sick people. His hospital takes all types of patients free of charge. His patients weren’t just diseases, they were real people with real stories. He wanted to become a doctor to serve the world.

This movie is truly amazing. The heart of Patch is what I want. A servants heart. A heart that wants to help people. A heart of humility. A heart of compassion.

I believe the church is like a hospital. We’re a building full of real people who need help every day. Jesus says in Mark 2:17, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.” The church helps bring in sick people and then Jesus heals them.

One of my favorite quotes from patch is, “Our job is improving the quality of life, not just delaying death.” This is what a church needs to be. Our job is encouraging people. Spreading love like a wildfire. Showing hope to the world. Life isn’t just one big waiting room. We are not just sitting around patiently for Jesus’ return, but we’re enjoying life and improving the lives of others through Christ. We are living, we are loving, and we are serving.

The world isn’t one big disease that we need to avoid at all cost. It’s not a leper colony that we sidestep. We should focus on bringing the sick into the hospital and letting the doctor take care of them. And we should be sitting with them during this process. We need to have real community with the sick. That means being legitimate friends with others around you.

And remember, you aren’t the doctor…Jesus is. It’s not about our doings, it’s about what He has done, what He has already done, and what He is going to do.

We were all once sick, and there was only one doctor who saved us. And that doctor is able to save anybody. All we have to do is bring others to Him.

Make relations with people. Don’t allow the sick to die off. The church is the spiritual hospital of the world. Let’s continue to show love, grace, compassion, and maybe even a little bit of humor.

Love you dudes, but more importantly, Jesus loves you dudes. Hope this was encouraging! If you want to connect follow our twitter @NotoftheNorm, or like our page at facebook.com/notofthenorm. If you have any thoughts, or want us to write about something, email us at notofthenorm.gmail@wordpress.com.

10 thoughts on “The Theology of Patch Adams.

  1. What a wonderful post! I think as Christians we sometimes start to think that we the ones who are responsible for fixing other people. We forget that we were once “sick” also, and that the only doctor we need is Jesus. Our intentions are in the right place, but our directions get a little skewed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so agree with everything you said here. There are times when we are tempted to be off in our own little Christian bubble, turning a blind eye to those who are hurting, sick, sinners, and we forget that we, too, were one of them once. Jesus has set such a beautiful example for us.

    Oh, and I am definitely watching that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my favourite movies too! My youngest daughter even went off to Mexico to help for a year in one of his ministries. His work still flourishes and has spread to many countries. I love his discovery that death is not the enemy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One of my favorite movies by someone who knew how to use the gift God had blessed him with by making others laugh! Unfortunately, our collection of his works were all on VHS. The machine broke, my husband replaced it with a DVD machine. Now we only have 2 of his works. I miss watching him in “Mrs. Doubtfire”, which my husband took me to see on our first date. There is no cure for parkinson’s disease. My grandma on my father’s side died from it. Not enjoyable to be around someone with it. We visited her up in the nursing home at least monthly while she was alive. Was not a good year when she passed away. My grandpa on the other side of the family died, few months later the grandma with Parkinson’s died, then finally my other grandma passed away.
    I attended the first funeral of that mess, because I wanted to make sure my grandma was taken care of. After that, didn’t go to funerals. I prefer to remember people as they were when they lived, not how a mortician made them look!
    I’m starting to ramble on. Great blog post.
    Jeanette Hall

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

