The Running Game.

I used to run cross country in high school. I never really understood why I ran. I never liked it. I mean seriously, who actually enjoys torturing themselves just to lose a few pounds? Feeling the burn is not fun people. I couldn’t stand the kids who would “run for fun”. I knew they were lying deep down.

I never liked racing either. I was a 5’8 dwarf to the other kids. I wasn’t short and I wasn’t fat, but I wasn’t super tall and skeleton like. I would get beat by skin and bones running by me. Then the same kids had the audacity to make fun of me after the race, like I was offended by a Dracula for not being as skinny as him. I should of ran races with a ham sandwich in my hand, then tried to catch up to the leader just to force him to eat something. I’d probably do better in my races…or I’d eat the sandwich and still suck…

I think the worst thing that could have happened to me in cross country was when I tripped over a tree root, and fell onto some kid. Of course no one stopped to help me up, and the kid I brought down screamed some pretty horrendous words for being less than 100 pounds, but the race was still going, so I had to keep running. I just ran a little bit slower just to be careful.

I didn’t get the concept of running. I was in physical shape. I could run for miles and miles. I kept up with all of my teammates. But during races I couldn’t pull it off. I had a terrible mindset. My head game wasn’t strong. I knew I had put in the work, but I was upset that it was never showing. I wanted everyone to see my performance, but I didn’t want to go all out and be tired by the end of it.

This is how some of us view Christianity. We think about all the time we’ve put into God. We’re like, “God, I did my devotions on my YouVersion app today, I prayed last night and this morning, I went to church this week and I might even go to Bible study too! I’m being a good person God. Can’t you…I don’t know…bless me a little bit more? Like dude come on I’ve done all this for you, can’t you do something for me?”

We go through our list of spiritual living just because we want to seem like a good person and we want God to bless us. We train just to be good, but we forget something.

Life is not all about what we’ve done for Him. It’s all about what He’s done for us.

Our performance is not based off of how much we’ve trained. Even if you’ve been training for years and you’re a first place runner, the physicality and strength you’ve obtain is not from yourself. It is a gift from God. We wouldn’t be here without Him.

Don’t train because you want something out of it. Train because that is what He wants out of us. Some of us think that if we train more then Jesus will love us more and exceedingly bless us. This isn’t what life is about. Jesus wants us to get to know Him. He wants this relationship to be you and Him, not you and yourself. He wants to show His love for us, and He gives us ways to do it. That’s why we train. We do it for Him, not for us.

Some of us train for years upon end, and then we mess up. We fall in our races. Then when we get back up, we slow down. We think, “well God…I’ve screwed up big time. I gotta fix my life you know…turn my life around before I can come back to church.”

What..? That’s the opposite of what Jesus wants. Do you sink down to the depths of the oceans because you screwed up? You can’t swim up and save yourself from sinking. You don’t stand a chance against the waves of sin. You can not overcome it; you can never overcome it. You can only drown by yourself. There’s only one who can save you! His power is enough to rescue you from sins grip. He will take you out of the seas and into the light. You just need to call up to Him! You can’t save yourself, only Jesus can. It’s always been Jesus, It always has been Jesus, and it’ll never stop being Jesus. He’s the one who save us, we don’t save ourselves. He’s never going to let you drown. He has already drowned in His own blood so that He can rescue you from sinking.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6)

“All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.” (John 6:37)

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

“Jesus said to her, โ€œI am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in Me will live even if he dies, and everyone who lives and believes in Me will never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25)

Oh and for the record I still kind of run. I go jogging here and there. Even though I’m 19, I can already feel it in my knees, so I’m praying that my knees don’t give out in my 20’s.

Love you dudes, but more importantly, Jesus loves you dudes. Join the community and become a dude by liking and sharing our brand new facebook page at facebook.com/notofthenorm! Or join us on twitter @notofthenorm. Or email us at notofthenorm.wordpress@gmail.com! We’d love to hear from you dudes!

18 thoughts on “The Running Game.

  1. For a very young man, you have said a very wise thing here today. “Don’t train because you want something out of it, train because it’s what He wants you to do.” If there is an are where believers need to really grow in, it is finding the will of God. Even in my own life, for the first time in my life ( and I am no longer a young chick), the job I am working at is a. not about the money, b. not about what I want, it is about what I believe God wants me to do to serve others. I am serving an employer and I am to help them make their enterprise successful. I am “sowing seed”, if you will.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah running……… I just turned 50 and arthritis has taken running which I never enjoyed away. Bummer, except I’m 50 and now gaining weight. Double bummer.

    It’s all about Christ and His work. The only reason we should even be reading the Bible is to know Him more. Being good? Who is good? God says no one! Our righteousness is His alone, He just covers us, as if we were some beaten destroyed furniture upholstery, Jesus is our perfect Furniture cover!

    Like

  3. Nicholas- if I run far my knees hurt too. I usually run a mile at a quick pace. I time myself to keep making progress. No knee pain. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also helps to have light weight shoes.
    I really believe being close to Jesus is by far the best way to live. My favorite time is in his presence. Church is awesome, because HE is there. Prayer, Bible reading, worship ROCK because HE is in it. Keep up the great work!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great blog topic! ๐Ÿ™‚ I joined my h.s. track team (Long distance) to get closer to a girl I had a crush on ๐Ÿ™‚ When I went to college, I just continued to run to keep in shape and just to run races (e.g. 2, 3, 5K) for fun or some community fundraiser. One of my knees went out after falling hard on ice last year, so I decided to focus on singing (joined my church worship team)..with a different purpose! ….”Run in a way that you may obtain it”…https://www.facebook.com/SalPhotoVideography/photos/a.850715384943335.1073741947.443035202378024/916834658331407/?type=3&theater I started to run again after my knee has been healed and doing it for exercise (inspired by movie “Unbroken” featuring Louis Zamperini, WWII Vet/Survivor) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Man, you hit the nail on the head with this. Very well-said. I greatly enjoy your writing and how the Lord speaks through you. Your personal stories as introductions are enjoyable, relatable, and often funny. By the time I get to the message, I’m already pulled in to the text.

    You spoke a very good, true word in this. One that I have been wrestling with myself. I’m very much the type that keeps doing the good acts, expecting God to give me something in return. Sometimes, He does. Most times, nothing…which leads me to be discontent and complain like the Israelites in the desert on the way to the promised land.

    This post spoke to my attitude about this. It’s not about give-and-take; it’s not about us or the good works we do to receive something we want. The Christian faith isn’t a job.

    It’s about what Jesus is done. As soon as we get caught up in the good works, we’ve got to backtrack and focus on the real reason we do the good works. Do we do it as a loving response to what Christ has done…or do we expect something out of it for our own self?

    Thank you for this convicting message. It spoke to my heart, as I’m sure it did to many others.

    Keep writing and striving for the Almighty, brother.

    Regards,
    CH

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on Progressing Through Life and commented:
    This is a great message I enjoyed reading this afternoon. One that I have been wrestling with.

    Iโ€™m very much the type that keeps doing the good acts, expecting God to give me something in return. Sometimes, He does. Most times, nothingโ€ฆwhich leads me to be discontent and complain like the Israelites in the desert on the way to the promised land.

    This post spoke to my attitude about this. Itโ€™s not about give-and-take; itโ€™s not about us or the good works we do to receive something we want. The Christian faith isnโ€™t a job.

    Itโ€™s about what Jesus is done. As soon as we get caught up in the good works, we’ve got to backtrack and focus on the real reason we do the good works. Do we do it as a loving response to what Christ has doneโ€ฆor do we expect something out of it for our own self?

    Take a look for yourself at this good word.

    Like

Leave a Reply

