Look Out and Around.

“And Lord, I know that I’m weathered stone but I owe it to my brothers to carry them home.” -The Oh Hellos

These are words that have been, and continue to be written on my heart.

It was near the beginning of my adventures at Grace Bible College that I first heard these lyrics, so beautifully delivered by the talented folk duo. I cried– even the very first time.

The funny thing is, I didn’t even start to understand how this related to me until at least a few weeks later. It was my mother that brought this to my attention. This short line from a folksy song captures one of my greatest weaknesses. This will be tattooed on my body someday– likely sooner than later.

Just because something goes wrong in our lives, that doesn’t mean that we are justified in forgeting about our mission as Christians (see Galatians 6:9 and Proverbs 17:17). Personally, it’s hard for me to focus on loving people when I have a heart that is heavy with sorrow or frustration. It’s oh so tempting to be entirely consumed with my own issues to the point that I put everyone else’s on the back burner.

When we keep our focus on glorifying God and loving his children during our toughest times, that is when people see the difference between you and the rest of the world.

If you forget about everyone else in your times of adversity, you’re letting the world triumph over you.

But our Lord and savior has overcome the world, has he not said so himself? (John 16:33)

Life sucks sometimes, this much is true. But let me remind you that God never sucks– and that is the understatement of a lifetime. God is always good, and always beautiful, and there is always hope for a better tomorrow. Just make sure that while you look forward to that better tomorrow, that you’re not walking past the broken-hearted.

“Take me home, I want to go down the road that will take me to the living Oak. And Lord, I know it’s a heavy load, but we’ll carry our brothers, oh, we’ll carry them home.”

6 thoughts on “Look Out and Around.

  1. great post. we are looked at closer than normal during the hard times…people will think, “I wonder how they are doing now with the hard stuff happening.” We can let our light shine brightest when the tough times happen because that’s when people are looking the closest. this is a great post…insightful and some great critical thinking happening here. nice work

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! That’s so true, and something I hadn’t really thought of. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! They mean a lot!

      Like

  2. Amen to this. I wrote a post about this myself and this is so true. Jesus told his desciples to never lose that light that you’ve gotta have and never lost, no matter what’s going on or how bad things gets. It’s easy to lose faith in humanity, and the overall mission for that matter, but we’re still that salt that preserves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

