You’ll Find Me Frolicking in Yonder Glen.


Near and dear to my heart, lies a word. This is word that most people have heard, but haven’t really taken the time to understand. This is a word that makes me think of all that we can’t understand in the world. This is a word that brings to my mind magic in the most innocent form.

“Whimsy.”

The autumn leaves crunch underfoot. Despite the brush of a chill across your face, you can’t help but smile because of the sheer beauty in the scene before you. The sunlight is streaming down through the jostling tress and the world around you is orchestrating a minuet of celebration– because regardless of circumstances, God is still good, life is still a gift, and creation is still whimsical.

The Oxford Dictionary definition:
“Playfully quaint or fanciful, especially in an amusing and appealing way.”

I think that, just maybe, God wants us to live whimsical lives. You can’t have whimsy without joy, and the all-too-familiar Galatians 5:22 fruits of the spirit wouldn’t be complete without joy. It is my firm belief that true joy can only come from the Lord– much like peace. It has been my experience that we are granted joy through some of the most difficult times– when we request it, that is (James 4:2, Matthew 7:7). It’s when you can stand before the challenges of life with a smile on your face that others see your unconventional response to pain. You are different.

You are not of this world; you’re just visiting for a while.

Try as hard as I may to explain what the word “whimsical” means to me, you can only ever experience it on your own. My whimsy is mine, and yours is yours, if you choose to pursue it.

I choose whimsy because I want God to use me. I want people to see the love of Jesus when they so much as look at me. Maybe Jesus wasn’t especially fond of watching the clouds in a field of daisies. But I do know have confidence that Jesus loved nature and –even more than that– he loved the Father that made it. Maybe nature isn’t the embodiment of whimsy, but I think that the two are definitely intertwined– at least for me. Make your whimsy your own.

It is my prayer that after reading this, you would have a new idea introduced in your mind. Maybe someday, when I feel that I’ve found a better grasp on the incredible, vast power of the English language, I will revisit this topic.

Take solace, friends, in the fact that God’s goodness and power is not based on your circumstances.

Find your whimsy and take it for an unpredictable, beautiful ride.  



20 thoughts on “You’ll Find Me Frolicking in Yonder Glen.

  1. I never thought of Whimsicality this way, from a Biblical perspective, this word ‘Whimsical’ (for myself and what older people have said in reference of me) goes from insult to anthem. I love being whimsical and spontaneous in my every day life to keep an vibrant and colorful existence. I believe that acting on an adventurous whim gives God room to work and mold you into the blessed being of his original design.

    Like

      1. Yea! 😀 Whims make life interesting, like playing frisbee (or flying disk, depending on where your from) in the parking lot of IKEA after-hours with friends and Taco Bell, blasting Katy Perry from your car stereo so loud security asks you to leave. True Story, 😀

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on Smitty Rooks and commented:
    I never thought of Whimsicality this way, from a Biblical perspective, this word ‘Whimsical’ (for myself and what older people have said in reference of me) goes from insult to anthem. I love being whimsical and spontaneous in my every day life to keep an vibrant and colorful existence. I believe that acting on an adventurous whim gives God room to work and mold you into the blessed being of his original design.

    Like

  3. I often feel whimsy when I’m hiking and God shows me a beautiful bird that I’ve never seen. Never could describe the emotion before, so thank you for your great explanation. I always tried to put it as; delighted in God’s love for me, joyful for what I’ve seen, and excited for what he’ll show me tomorrow. Then my brain goes and imagines things that I could see tomorrow. 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement! I really appreciate it! I definitely know what you mean when you mention the bird. It’s the intricacies of life, I think, that make God’s beauty so apparent. What an artist!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

