Where The Glory Leads.

A lot of people say, “Give all the glory to God!” but what does that mean? What does it look like to give all the glory to God?

As usual I’ll start this blog out with a story from my past (sorry, it’s just how I roll).

I ran track in the 8th grade and it was a bit awkward to watch. Puberty was hitting me hard. I had abnormally long armpit hair for my age, my acne was overwhelming, my surfer haircut was a bit too long, and I had chicken legs that didn’t go well with my giant body, huge head, and big nose.

Although I was awk in stature, I was still a pretty quick kid. I made it to the semi-finals for the 800 meter race. I ran against 16 other kids who were also trying to make it to finals. I remember getting close to the finish line. I was in second trying to catch up to the leader. A lot of people were screaming my name. They wanted to see me finish first. I got so caught up in my minuscule fame that I glanced over to give my fans a smirk. As I looked to my right, a kid passed me on my left. Instead of taking first, I settled with third. Yeah it sucked, but I still made it to finals. As I walked toward the crowd, I gave a bow to my admirers, tripped over my own shoelace, and fell face first into the concrete. Yeah…nice…

As if that was bad, during finals I only took seventh. After the race I looked at the spectators, threw up in my mouth, then swallowed it. I hope no one saw…

At these moments life was all about me. I sought out the affirmations of my peers. I wanted my name to be heard. I wanted the fame. I wanted to look rad, feel rad, and be rad.

Paul says in Galatians 1:10, “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

Seeking approval from people is not a fulfilling lifestyle. Influence can only get you so far. Having followers wont always make you happy. Someone is always going to rub you the wrong way or talk behind your back.

The good thing is, we don’t have to seek approval from man. We already have approval from God.

Fans in the stands don’t matter. You’ve got one mega fan who’s cheering you through every part of your life.

Paul later says in Galatians 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.”

He lives in us and wants to be known. What we do is not our own doing, but it’s God’s doing, and it’s for Jesus. Every good thing comes from God, so don’t steal His glory. Let your light shine for Jesus and no one else. He died to make us clean so that His name could be glorified.

Our reputation doesn’t matter. Our honor doesn’t matter. Our dignity doesn’t matter. What matters is God’s greatness.

If you want the focus to shine on Jesus, then live like a servant, not a celebrity.

I quit track the next year. I didn’t like the taste of puke.

Love you dudes, but more importantly, God loves you dudes. Get connected and follow our twitter @NotoftheNorm and email us at NotoftheNorm.wordpress@gmail.com Love to message and hear from all of you!

10 thoughts on “Where The Glory Leads.

  1. God loves His glory, that should be our focus , to give God glory, in all we do.(Isaiah 42:8)New International Version (NIV)
    “I am the Lord; that is my name!
    I will not yield my glory to another
    or my praise to idols.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I’m excited to read more of your posts- I love hearing other believers’ stories, viewpoints and takes on God, His greatness and following His path. Awesome post, love the personal story as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

