You Can’t Do This Alone.

When I was younger I used to complain about how hard it was to be a Christian. “There’s so many rules to follow. I have to be constantly pleasing God. If I mess up people are going to call me a hypocrite. How am I supposed to be perfect all the time? I can’t even go a day without sinning.”

I’ve always been taught that being a Christian isn’t easy. It’s hard work. There’s no way to be lazy as a Christian. You have a job to keep, rules to follow, and a perfect life to live. You have to act like Jesus, think like Jesus, and be like Jesus. And if you can’t then are you really a Christian? Do you really love Jesus? Or are you just another hypocrite?

So I wanna let you dudes know that being a Christian doesn’t mean you’re perfect. Jesus shows us that it’s impossible to be perfect on our own. No amount of good deeds can lead us to heaven. Following rules, stipulation, and laws aren’t what gets you to heaven. Being a good person isn’t what God wants.

And when you look at my complaints, I was really only focusing on myself and my own doings. I was centering myself on myself instead of on Jesus.

Religion is hard, Christianity is easy.

Trying to be a perfect person 100% of the time will leave you burdened. That’s what Jewish people did during the time of Jesus. They wanted to be as holy and spiritual as possible. They created laws to shape and mold them into a perfect person. Their religion forced anxieties on themselves.

But that’s why Jesus came. He took away our worries, and gave us rest.

“Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

Jesus came to complete the law. Our religious practices to perfect ourselves have been overcome by the cross. Our burdens were heavy, but God took them away and replaced them with a light yoke.

Our focus shouldn’t be centered on becoming righteous. Care less about holiness. Care more about Jesus. Being a Christian is not about being good. It’s about a relationship. It’s about grace. It’s about Jesus.

Jesus is the point of Christianity. It’s not about how good we look. It’s about how good Jesus is.

Christianity is easy because we don’t have to do good deeds for God to love us. He already does love us, and He’ll never stop loving us. Christianity has always been about Jesus. It’ll never stop being about Jesus His power is sufficient to sustain us. He is the ultimate source of our focus.

His love is like a rainstorm pouring drops the size of oceans onto us.

There’s no need to fake it. None of us are perfect, but Jesus is. Let Him take away your burdens. You can’t do this life by yourself. You don’t have to force His love onto you by trying to be good. Jesus already thinks you’re beautiful. Give your worries, anxieties, troubles, and hard times up to Him. Don’t stomp on Jesus’ death by trying to do everything alone.

Jesus died to take our worries, not to give us more.

Love you dudes, but more importantly, God loves you dudes.

13 thoughts on “You Can’t Do This Alone.

  1. Speak truth always. Never stop expelling the Kingdom of Darkness’s lies about The Human Existence and the need for Divine Connection.

    Like

  2. I am constantly reminded of John 15:5 where Jesus says “apart from me you can do nothing.” I had to go through many difficult trials before I finally caught on because I spent most of my young life thinking I had to do it myself or it wouldn’t get done.You are so right; keep up the good work my friend and brother in Christ and may God bless you richly.

    Like

  3. Great post. Great to have grace, unmerited grace that gives us access to the divine love of God. Our righteousness is of Christ Jesus, our own righteousness – religion is like filthy rag before God. Thanks for this reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

