As God Sees.

Have you ever noticed how difficult it is to watch what you say all the time? I’ve noticed this in my own life. I’ll go to church on Sunday, praise Jesus, then after the service judge someone on what they’re wearing, and gossip to a friend. Or I’ll get back from a rad youth group, turn on the news, and yell at the people I assume are idiots on the screen. Sometimes I’ll even be driving home from church, a car will cut in front of me, and with all of my positive, holy, and spiritual anger, I scream out kind and gentle hate words (sarcasm). Even right now! I’m writing this super righteous and spiritual blog (sarcasm) and I spilled my cherry soda on my pajamas. But because of how just and holy I am, I only said dang. (sorry mom) (and yes I type in my PJ’s. I’m also laying down with my laptop on my belly. Don’t judge me I’m a Christian.[once again…sarcasm])

The tongue.

Definition: the fleshy muscular organ in the mouth of a mammal, used for tasting, licking, swallowing, and (in humans) articulating speech.

The tongue is the rudder that guides our sailboats. It drives the directions of our hearts. It shows the world what’s inside of us. With it we shout words of love and encouragement, then turn around and jab words of hate. It helps defines our characters. It molds and shapes our definition.

You cannot domesticate the tongue. To the tongue, we are the animals, and it is our rider. The rider can shoot t-shirts out of a t-shirt cannon and bring joy to those it passes by, or it can fire arrows full of deadly poison to terrorize the roads ahead.

It’s hard to understand the tongue. It’s a necessary evil that live inside of us. There are times when my own tongue will slander someone who contains the image of God.

If you hang out with me a lot, you’d understand just how sarcastic I am. One of my favorite lines is, “Hey dude, I thought you were a Christian?” I say this when a fellow Jesus’ loving buddy of mine messes up, does something wrong, or says something bad. Some of them laugh, some get fussy, but I think it’s hilarious. Another line that a buddy of mine developed is, “Acts 5:29, I listen to God not man!” We use this when someone tells us what to do.

These obnoxious one liners have been used so much that it’s almost habit of me to say them. Most of the time I use them to be funny, but sometimes I actually am being insulting. I judge what somebody else did, or I don’t care what someone else wants me to do.

One of my favorite verses in the bible is John 3:16. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

Most of us know it, some of us have it memorized, but a lot of us forget the next verse.

For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him. (John 3:17 ESV)

We tend to be the accusers, the prosecutors, and are often harsher judges than God. We forget that people aren’t defined by their actions, but by God’s love for them. Even though we don’t like them, God still loves them.

I wish I knew this kind of deep, wide, enormous, immense, massive, and everlasting kind of love. Instead I choose to love only those who deserve love. I judge those who I think are idiots, scary-looking, thugs, sluts, and not as good as me. I choose not to love the one’s who are in my church that I don’t know, the one’s who are on the news that are just doing their jobs, and the ones that cut me off, even though they were all created in the image of God.

I want to be able to see sinners as God sees them. Or better said, as God sees me.

Jesus isn’t interested in condemning our past. He wants to rescue our futures.

Jesus didn’t come to condemn the world, neither should we.

I’m going to try to watch what comes out of my tongue more often. The things I say can weigh a heavy load on someone else’s back. It can build some up, or bring someone down. It can create happiness, or destroy a lifetime. Maybe I can’t control it, but God sure can, and He’s willing to help anyone who wants it. I love ya dudes, I hope this is encouraging.

17 thoughts on “As God Sees.

  1. Amen! Proverbs 18:21 says that life and death is in the power of the tongue. Life and death for ourselves, when we speak badly about ourselves, our bodies, our fears, and for others when we choose to gossip or choose to encourage. A friend of mine said that you can’t hate someone you pray for, so I think an important part about controlling our tongues also comes in controlling our prayer lives and praying for the very people we tend to judge. Good word!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey Nicolas! Guilty as charged, m’lud!! Yeah – like when I’m doing my ’rounds’ in the morning it’s so easy to get ‘caught’ in the gossip. Then I feel the ‘nudge’ of the Holy Spirit. But do I desist? Do I heck?! Too busy enjoying putting someone down. Thanks for this thought-provoking post. ps. Don’t think less of you cos you write in your jammies!!! Be blessed – Reuben.

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree more with your post. Literally you practically described me in the fist paragraph ( except the spilling of the cherry soda) 🙂 I get told on a daily basis to watch my tongue and your post just puts more emphasis on why I should.

    Like

  4. Good stuff bro. Everyday one has to watch what they say as well as where what they’re saying is coming from. Our must words be always with grace and seasoned with salt. Colossians 4

    Like

  5. I am a fairly shy, introverted person so in some ways it is much easier for me to control my tongue. I just don’t talk as much, or impulsively as many people! For me, the hard part is not what I say with my mouth, but what I think in my mind. Judging people in my mind is just as wrong as judging them with my words. So in the end I echo your statement,

    “I want to be able to see sinners as God sees them. Or better said, as God sees me.”

    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s easy to slip into judgment. All of us are guilty. But thank God for grace and mercy. It’s an everyday thing that we have to learn how to master. God’s Holy Spirit will be there as always…

    Like

  7. Who can tame the tongue? Truly it is a life time exercise of taking control of what comes out of the mouth. For awhile I had mine under control, for a short time it runs amok until I tame it again. Enjoyed this post, and saw my own struggle with taming the tongue.

    Like

  8. We can all relate to you brother, the Bible says: (Mark 14:38)New International Version (NIV)
    Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

    Like

  9. Thanks for this! I’ve often said that the heaviest cross I bear is my lack of patience, but right there with it is my sharp tongue that gets even sharper when my patience is exhausted and temper is fueled. It’s all about the love. My heart knows it, and my soul knows it. The hard part is getting my brain and tongue to know it. Thanks again!

    Like

  10. There’s still this next step on the slippery slope: “Speak your truth in love.” What does that mean? Ultimately, the only positive testimony is from the listener, when they say “Thank-you for loving me.” Don’t forget to use the tongue for that purpose as well!

    Lots of little statements that we find hard to include in that part of that process: “Does that help?”, “I’m sorry. I guess that I didn’t understand.”, “What can I do to help?”

    Much as I honor him, Jesus may not have been the best example in this regard, because he came into the world with a singular purpose and just walked without wavering down the path to our redemption. The rest of us need to learn from one another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

