Help Will Come.

So the past few weeks I’ve been staying at my girlfriend’s grandparents house. This is because I finished my Freshman year of college, and I have no where else to stay until I start working at a summer camp at the end of May.

This morning I was sitting on the couch when my girlfriend’s grandpa came in and told me that he bought me a doughnut. He told me where the doughnut was, but I wasn’t paying attention. I was too stoked about the delicious sugar-filled fattening treat to listen. I went on a search for my love. I checked the table, the counters, the garage counters, the fridge, and even scavenged through all the cabinets, but I could not find the beautiful piece of pastry. Confused, lost, and beaten, I gave up on my hunt. I went back to the living room and sat back on the couch.

“Did you eat your doughnut already?” “No I couldn’t find it.” “Well all you had to do was ask for help!”

Help. A four letter word that seems to be out of place in this world. It destroys pride. It murders our dignity. It opens up a space that shows weakness. It’s an electric chair that shocks our ego. It’s a knife that stabs and unpuffs our chests.

As a leader in my school and other parts of my life, I feel like asking guidance shows that I’m not qualified in leading. I feel like a leader is someone who is well-rounded and can do everything himself.

Asking for help is letting everyone know that I can’t do something by myself; that I’m not good enough on my own.

This is how I view God at times. I know He came to help, but I feel the need to do things on my own. God only works in some parts of my lives, and I work in the rest.

What if I told you all of the burdens that rest on your shoulders can not be removed by your own doings? Or that you can not do every little thing by yourself? What if I told you that life is all about asking for help?

This is the reality of reality.

Jesus was sent to help us. We have an answer to our searches. Our biggest problems has already been answered. The things that we can’t do on our own can be done. We have someone to guide us through life, and all we have to do is ask for help.

The only problem that we face is pride. Pride is an arrogance that surrounds our subconscious. A lie that puts ourselves in front of what’s most important. A camouflage that hides the truth that we aren’t good enough to live this life on our own; that we need help.

Jesus wants to help you. He can get you through every part of life. He isn’t some fairy-tale being created by religious whack jobs to force moral practices.

To ask for help is to kill egocentrism.

In practical terms, showing that you need help alleviates the stress that an egocentric mindset brings.It allows you to open up, be real, be human, and show others that no one can do it on their own. Leaders who ask for help are the best leaders around. Asking for help brings up delegation and allows others to do the things that they can do but you can’t.

But when it comes down to it, we need to ask God for help. God sacrificed His son so that we don’t have to live this life alone. Jesus wants us to come to Him. He doesn’t want us to walk around hopeless and helpless. Jesus is our help. We need to stop trashing the gospel by doing things on our own.

Pray for help and help will come.

“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” (John 8:36 ESV)

And yes…I eventually ate the doughnut, and it was delicious.

6 thoughts on “Help Will Come.

  1. Excellent message! You describe so poignantly, my problem in admitting I need help. Compartmentalizing is another way that I find myself trying to hang on to control: “God can help me in X area but, as far as Y and Z are concerned, I’ve got that.” There’s so much peace in surrender. Jesus take the wheel!

    P.S. So jelly about that doughnut

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

