Where Grace Abounds.

As a typical judgmental Christian I used to think of sin as a scale from 1 to 10. I would put a horrendous sin at the top of the scale, and then leave a miniscule sin near the bottom. I used this scale to judge others.  If you were higher up on the scale than me, you were a terrible person, and there’s no way I’m talking to you. If you were lower down on the scale then maybe I’ll acknowledge to you. Many times I used this scale for judging who I’d evangelize too. The lower the scale, the more likely God has prepared you to listen to me. The higher the scale, the less likely I’m going to get through to you. My misconception of humanity acted like a crutch on why I wouldn’t talk to sinful people. My false accusations led my thoughts to believe that some people were worse than me.

When we put labels on people, we start to separate ourselves from the lost. We assume that those who are higher on the sin scale can only be saved by a miracle. We forget to realize that Jesus himself was a miracle.

Jesus didn’t come to heal healthy people; He came to bring life to the sick.

Sometimes I forget that my sins are counted just as high as every other sin. Every sin is equal. No one is worse than another. We all have garbage and junk that we’ve done. We all have skeletons in our closets. It’s hard to think that my sins are just as bad as a murderer or a rapist, but that is the truth of the gospel. For ALL have sinned and ALL fall short of the glory of God.  There is no sin scale in God’s eye.

I hide myself behind my sin scale as an excuse not to make friends with people I don’t like. I worry about my reputation more than God’s will. I think that only true evangelists can lead people to God, but I forget to realize that God leads people to God. Evangelist and missionary don’t have some sort of cosmic power that allows them to talk people that we outcast. Sure they might have the gift of evangelizing, but it doesn’t mean that God only wants certain people to evangelize. It’s everyone’s job to make disciples.

When you let fear conquer your thoughts, you allow the sick to die off.

Now the law came in to increase the trespass, but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more. (Romans 5:20 ESV)

We need to show grace to everyone. Not just to people who deserve it, but to those who need it most.

Where sin is increased, grace needs to be shown all the more.

10 thoughts on “Where Grace Abounds.

  1. It’s everyone’s job to make disciples.

    True.

    I think another error we tend to make is in the assumption that evangelism = discipleship.

    Like

  2. This is very true. I never thought of myself as being better than others when it came to sin, but I definitely used a “sin scale” to try to justify my actions to myself. It makes a huge difference when you sit down and just say to yourself “Yeah, I’m just as bad as everyone else.” Suddenly the “by grace” part of “Saved by grace through faith” starts to mean a whole lot more. At the same time my attitude changed from thinking that I owed God someTHING to realizing that I owed Him someONE. Me.

    Thanks for the devotional. Keep this up, it’s very encouraging!

    Like

  3. I LOVE this. I was in a christian community for for a number of years. I was so harshly judged by other Christians, and I was one of the community, part of the “family!” It got to the point where their suspicians and unfound accusations broke me. I hadn’t done anything wrong but I wasn’t what they said I should and what I should be varied according to whom I spoke with. I could not win. It took me a long time to recover from that, and forgive them. Took me even longer to want to be around Christians again. We have be so mindful of “rules based Christianity” as a way to salvation and holiness. It isn’t the way. Christ is the way.

    Even though I don’t know you, I’m so proud of your vulnerability and honesty here. This is beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

