Why the Goodness of Today Matters

When I think of “good” things I begin to think of some of my favorite foods and drinks (pizza, coffee, doughnuts, hot pockets, and did I say coffee?), I think of the first warm, sunny day after a long, cold winter(I grew up in Michigan, so I know a thing or two about cold winters). I think of the way I felt when I saw Chrissy (my wife) walking down the aisle on our wedding day.

Those are all good things….   An innocent man, being beaten to the point of death and then being crucified without a fair trial is not a good thing. That same man being forced to wear a crown of thorns and being spat on for no other reason than helping hurting people is not something I would call “good”.

But when that man is taking the beatings and suffering for all of humanity, to take away the sins of the world, it becomes a good thing!  

For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ. – 2 Corinthians 5:21 (NLT)

That man who wore that crown, took the beating, bled and died so that we might have life and life more abundantly!  

He died so that we could live!

  His name is Jesus and His death was not in vain! His death was the perfect payment for my sins, the sins of humanity.

We are no longer bound to the grip of sin…We no longer need to have a perfect life in order to know God and be known by God.  

I hope you get this! This isn’t just a nice story about a Jewish man who attempted to help people! This is about a love so deep that it brought a Man to give up His life in order to prove that it was real! May this not just be another Friday for you. I hope it’s a positive day and all, but it’s more than the usual. I hope you’ll take time to consider the goodness of this Good Friday. I hope you take the time to remember the payment that was made for you.

…Check out John 19…

9 thoughts on “Why the Goodness of Today Matters

  1. Praise God for His wondrous love! The fact that Jesus (Who is God in the flesh) came down here to live and die for us sinners is truly amazing. He could have just left us to die in our sins but He didn’t want to lose us for eternity.

    There’s a verse in the bible that says how Jesus will feel when He sees all the people who have accepted Him as their Lord and Saviour. It is very beautiful. You can find it in Isaiah 53:11.

    May God continue to bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

