A Smile in the Sea of Apathy.

“Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.” – Philippians 2:3 (KJV)

The other day, I was riding to the mall with a dear friend, when smoke started coming out of the hood. Being the oblivious person I am, I had no answer for him when he asked, “did you see that?” I was too concerned with looking at the people walking along the road and all of the colors around me. It took a few moments, but at some point, I did turn back to see smoke billowing out of the vehicle. Well, that’s not good.

We ended up stalling while driving on the inner lane of a busied road. It didn’t take long for people to start honking. At first, it was a little vexing. But after what seemed to be an endless string of honks, I found that I was growing exasperated, and– oddly enough– disappointed. We had our hazards on; it wasn’t like we were just stopped in the road for the heck of it. It was so easy for them to simply move their hand to the horn; but I doubt they ever even thought about the emotional impact. But if someone is an inconvenience, does it really matter if “their feelings are hurt?” They’re in your way.

When I first heard this verse, I thought of all of the petty conflicts we encounter. For most people, I think it’s often most common with their roommate. However, it’s unreal how well my roommate and I get along with one another. But I think about the other relationships where we find petty things: friendships, relationships, marriages, and even within our families. When we put someone else’s pettiness before our own, that is service. As Christians, we should constantly be seeking to serve the people around us.

People certainly don’t have to be Christians to understand and practice basic consideration, but in my opinion, we should certainly be striving to love people in this way. We live in an egocentric society, where we are constantly focusing on ourselves. How do I look? What do I own? How much money am I making? How will this affect me? This is something we’re all guilty of. But I think that often this mindset becomes an obstacle to serving each other.

Could we possibly try to focus on others, for a change? What if we lived our lives to glorify God holistically, instead of ourselves? What if we were able to love our brothers and sisters with so much selfless passion that we weren’t worried about ourselves?

It’s easy to honk the horn, but it’s beneficial to ask if those poor saps on the side of the road need some help.

Let’s lose ourselves in love.

12 thoughts on “A Smile in the Sea of Apathy.

  1. It’s definitely a constant struggle for me personally to shake myself out of self oriented preoccupations but I also think that there is a greater fulfillment that can come from concerning ourselves with the well being of others (although this idea is not always present or clear in the moment)

    So we’re probably doing ourselves a good deed every time we do someone else one. I bet those people who were honking their horns probably would have felt better if they had gotten out and helped, getting satisfaction that way, rather than letting their anger dominate them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true! Consideration is hard to come by on the road. People are in too much of a hurry to be bothered. It really is quite sad and maddening at the same time. I often joke to my kids when people are inconsiderate on the road and I say “See, that’s why I don’t like people”. So I try letting someone turn into my lane as a good gesture in hopes that they will feel led to do the same for someone else. With small, baby steps we help make the world a better place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post- I feel like it’s so easy to get caught up in your own daily routine, stresses and everyday issues that you forget how meaningful a smile or kind gesture to someone can be! When I first moved to NYC from SF, I felt like everyone was so caught up in the hustle and bustle of the city and that New Yorkers were all just mean! Six years later, I continue to realize more and more it so important to be nice to ppl because you just never know what they’re going through at that moment! Even if they seem crabby on the outside! Nice writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

