Out Of Reach.

I’m sure most of us grew up hearing people in our family and church saying: “God will never give you more than you can handle. Our culture has somehow decided that God will never give us a burden or a task that is too much for us. Churches have come to believe that we are only given things that are under our power to control. Trust me: CRAP HAPPENS. Being a photographer, sometimes my camera malfunctions and I literally want to throw it down the hill; or my guitar string snaps right in the middle of playing a sick riff in a worship set. Crap. Happens.

1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

God tells us that we are going to face things that tempt us beyond our control. We will face things in life that are beyond our reach. All of our lives are more than we can handle. We daily face things that challenge our faith and our character. The point of this, is so that in times of need and struggle, we can turn our heads towards Christ and not the world. We are designed to stand firm even during the hardest things that go on.

Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

We all face crap in our everyday lives. I face things in my college and spiritual life that make me want to quit school and music and my photography. Discouragement can come when you get hit with stupid things. But even during those things, it might be too much for us to handle, but it’s never too much for God to handle.

When you believe that God will never burden you, you limit your need for God.

It puts God in a box to say that He will never challenge us and put us outside our comfort zone. For me, heights terrify me. I can’t STAND heights. But, I’ve been pushed to the limit doing rock walls, and high ropes courses. It still is something I struggle about, but ultimately it forces me to rely on God for my strength and my confidence to face things that I can’t control.

Faith isn’t just believing, it’s acting your belief out and having to stretch your hand out and let God get ahold of You.

15 thoughts on “Out Of Reach.

  1. God wants us to be always in a place where we are trusting Him and relying on His strength and we won’t do that if we think we are in control. Why would we need God if everything is rosey and within our reach??? Great point brother.
    The body needs to know the truth!

    Rolain

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing. I have heard and believe you make this point very well “what is happening to us is not nearly as important as what is happening in us” God never promised problem free. He did promise He would never leave us.
    Great writing look forward to reading more.
    Cliff

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite verse (well… one of them) says exactly this… “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33b Jesus doesn’t tell us that we can handle it. He tells us – and is very clear – that He can. ❤ Peace….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is definitely a lie within the church that God won’t give us more than we can handle. Tell that to the woman who just buried her stillborn baby. Tell that to the man racked with guilt over poorly judging a driving decision and killing his entire family. These things are wayyyyy beyond what we can handle. Even little things are beyond what we can handle because GOD gives us air to breathe, minds to think, hearts that pump on their own. Little or big, nothing is within our realm of being able to “handle it”. That is why we need sole reliance, complete submission to the Lord and His control over our lives. Also, I believe that some things God doesn’t “give us” necessarily but rather allows to happen and then works them together for His will and His glory. Other things He does “give us” to grow us and refine us for His work. Either way, when these trials come, we are to lean on Him! That is the proper response that will lead to us growing closer to Him. Sorry for being so long-winded. Good post- thanks for sharing your thoughts! =]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! Two thoughts one I agree God is with us when we go through trials, Isaiah 41:13 says, “fear not, for I am with you;
    be not dismayed, for I am your God;
    I will strengthen you, I will help you,
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

    However, I am not sure God puts us through them. I believe sometimes crap happens but God doesn’t cause the crap.

    If the events tempt us to doubt God the events can come from God. James says, “Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am being tempted by God,” for God cannot be tempted with evil, and he himself tempts no one.
    But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire.
    Then desire when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death.
    Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers.
    Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

    Only good comes from God. He allows us through free will to doubt Him, and yes temptations and trials will come, but not from God. From man. Our own desires (this means man’s desires not our own personal necessarily).
    Your string breaking causing you anguish is your desire to be flawless when performing rather than God trying or tempting you.

    Just my opinion on it. I really enjoyed the post and agree the idea we don’t face tough trials in life is a flaw of the church.

    Like

Leave a Reply

