Meet the NOTN Crew: Erin Wilke

FullSizeRender

“One way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.” –William Feather

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past few months, it’s this: if you’re looking for an adventure,surrender your life to God. It’s when you do this that the whole world opens up to you. I grew up in a small town in Michigan, and I’ve somehow found myself in the big city of Grand Rapids. How this happened is beyond me. What’s next is a terrifying, exciting mystery.

I was only five years old. I was on a walk through the neighborhood with my dear mother when she paused, sat down on a nearby bench, and beckoned me to join her. She began to tell me what happened the day that Jesus was crucified. I was all too familiar with what happened that day in the physical realm; but it was that day that our world was changed for all time. Even though I don’t remember what exactly was said, I do know that this was a monumental day in my life.

I was reminded that I am a broken sinner, flawed and imperfect, and that God could cleanse me of all of my trespasses for the rest of my life. It was on that park bench that I accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior.

Because I accepted Christ as my savior, there are certain things in this world that I have never had to experience. No matter what storms have seized me in this life, I have always had hope—a hope that in every storm, I have an anchor; a hope that tomorrow, the seas will be calm; this hope is something special that can only be found in the Messiah, Jesus Christ.

God has instilled in me a desperate, thirsting soul that yearns to know him, and fire that the world cannot tame or kill. God has given me such passion for him and his people I will continue into the unknown, because it’s where I’ve been called.

It’s all-too-easy to feel like your testimony is significant. Attending a Bible college, I’ve heard so many incredible stories of freedom from addiction and drastic lifestyle changes; it’s tempting to think less of my own testimony. The day that anyone accepts deliverance from the bondage of sin through the blood of Jesus Christ is immeasurably special, regardless of any other circumstances– period. I strongly believe that God will still use my testimony, just as he can, and will, use yours. You need but ask.

I am an avid adventurer, seeking the face of God. I am a thinker, a rebel, a hopeless romantic. A dreamer. A joyful cynic. I am avid Erin. I strive to know God in ways that I never imagined I would want to, and find myself facing all sorts of obscure challenges in this pursuit. This world is going to bring us down, but God will grant us the peace that says, “we will overcome.”

10 thoughts on “Meet the NOTN Crew: Erin Wilke

  1. I grew up in a small city in Michigan too, although, I moved to Elkhart…which isn’t quite as big as Grand Rapids, it was still a change for me!

    Anyways… I love how you wrote, “The day anyone accepts deliverance from the bondage of sin through the blood of Jesus Christ is immeasurably special.” I couldn’t agree with that more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

