…and the Elbow and Wrist Lived Together in Harmony.

“Christianity of human individuals not as mere members of a group or items in a list, but as organs in a body—different from one another and each contributing what no other could. When you find yourself wanting to turn your children, or pupils, or even your neighbours, into people exactly like yourself, remember that God probably never meant them to be that. You and they are different organs, intended to do different things.”

C.S. Lewis is my man. When I thought of what I wanted my first post to be about, the Body of Christ was the first thing that came to mind. It just so happened that Lewis had already taken my thoughts and summed them up into a quote; he has a tendency of doing that.

The American protestant church has a mold for all Christians, and when we deviate from that, we’re no longer considered a “good Christian.” We’ve forgotten that the core belief of Christianity is that Jesus Christ has rescued us from our own sin through the power of his blood. If you believe this, everything else is essentially fluff. I’m not saying that the rest (doctrine, behavior, etc.) doesn’t matter– it most certainly does. However, it’s absurd that we judge other Christians when they don’t look like us metaphorically or physically. In this light, it doesn’t matter.

Now, we do have the fruit of the spirit, listed in Galatians 5:22-23. These are the fruits that should be produced in Christians, but did we ever stop to think that these may look different for everyone? Just a thought.

“From whom the whole body fitly joined together and compacted by that which every joint supplieth, according to the effectual working in the measure of every part, maketh increase of the body unto the edifying of itself in love.” –Ephesians 4:16 (KJV)

In my testimony post, I talked about my story and how God will use it, despite the fact that it seems insignificant in comparison to others. But everything I have gone through can be used to glorify the Lord, as long as I have faith. The same can definitely be said for you and your experiences. This is one of the many beautiful things about God.

Because we are all unique, we can be a body. You can’t make a body out of an assembly of fingers. It just wouldn’t work. Instead, the body is made up of specialized parts, each with it’s own special appearance, talents, gifts, and purpose. This is something I absolutely love. Working on a team with the other NOTN bloggers will be challenging. We will butt heads. We will have our ups, and ours downs, but this is because we’re all so different. When we put that in perspective, it’s really quite beautiful. We’ve all been gifted with various strengths and weaknesses, and we can reach a higher level of effectiveness than we would be able to individually. When I think of how special this is, it makes my heart swell.

Next time you see a brother or sister that isn’t quite the same as you are, just remember that you are you, and they are not.

If the elbow looked like the wrist, it couldn’t do it’s job.

I strongly encourage you to use discernment when reading anything that isn’t scripture itself. Because we’re all human, we’re prone to error and getting it all wrong. I pray that God would use this post, and anything else that I may say to glorify him and encourage his people. Don’t be gullible, but be teachable.

5 thoughts on “…and the Elbow and Wrist Lived Together in Harmony.

  1. I really liked this word. I appreciate the thoughts you’ve shared..I think we think along the same lines. I’m not one who enjoys lots of deep theological discussion but more about apprehending in our own heart and life the inheritance that Christ died to win for us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

