Meet the NOTN crew: Dean Deloof

At an early age, through Sunday school classes, A.W.A. N. A., and church, I came to understand that sin is anything you do, say, or think that would displease God. Also, sin is what distances us from God, and ruins the relationship He intendeds to have with us. I knew I was a sinner because I did things, and thought things, and said things that displeased God. Living in sin made having a relationship with God an impossible task.

I found out that not only did my sin separate me from God, but it also condemned me to death and Hell. I came to realize that living in my sin was a problem, and I needed to trust in Christ. I knew I needed to trust in Him because I had heard that He is the only one who can save me from my sin, and make me right with God. Romans 3:23 says, “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” And Romans 6:23 says, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” After learning these verses I understood that, because of my sin I deserved death, but Jesus died on the cross to pay for my sins and give me eternal life. All I had to do was believe in him as my savior.

Therefor, the decision to accept salvation was a very easy one to make. I did not want to die and spend eternity in Hell. (That’s a long time.) I also didn’t want to disappoint a God who loved me so much and was willing to send His only son to die in my place. After I understood all the information and principals of salvation I was ready to trust in Jesus. The next time I was at AWANA I reached out to my leader, Jim. I told him that I wanted to be saved and he talked to me and read me a few verses. One of these verses was Romans 10:9 which says “because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” After that I prayed with Jim and told God that I am sorry for sinning and hurting Him, and I thanked him for sending Jesus to die in my place. I then asked Jesus to come into my life, as my personal savior and that I would follow his commands. This was at age 8 or 9.

Fast-forward 8 years, I knew I was saved, and I knew how to live the Christian Life. I had, had my peaks and my lows in regards to my walk with Jesus but at age 17 someone probably couldn’t look at me and tell I was a Christian. Deep down I felt much regret and sorrow for this because I knew it wasn’t right, but I was so caught up with life. In between my junior and senior year of high school I met a man named Shaun, he is now one of my best friends and someone who disciples me. Shaun was my camp counselor that summer and we got along very well from the beginning. I confessed to him that I had been saved but I was really struggling with sin in my life, God used Shaun to teach me that I had to come to believe things for myself and not anyone else.

I took time to really re-examine my faith and decide why I believe what I believe. Not because it was what I had heard or what my pastor or dad had told me, but because I did my own research. He also taught me how absolutely important prayer, devotion, and worship to God is in the Christian life. Those three things are how we connect to God on a personal level. So you could say that by the grace of God, He used Shaun to bring me back to faith.

As of now I am a student at Grace Bible College. I am continuing to learn about God and have a relationship with him. I thank God for revealing himself to me and loving me through every trial and His constant outpouring of grace.

3 thoughts on “Meet the NOTN crew: Dean Deloof

  1. I love when God places people in our life to help mentor and disciple us! That’s how I came back to God and I pray that He uses me to bless people, the way my mentors have blessed me! Awesome testimony!

    Like

  2. This is amazing! Even at a young age, you understood what would happen to us with all of that sin; without the forgiveness of Christ.
    I’m so happy to hear that God placed Shaun in your life. It’s amazing how He knows exactly who to send to teach us what we feel we are lacking!
    I too was struggling with my faith for a while and the people he put in my life to help was almost overwhelming at times. But, brought me back to Him nonetheless.
    So glad to have heard your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

