World vs Worldly Things.

Separate yourself from worldly things, but don’t separate yourself from the world.

Worldly things is a phrase Christians use to refer to as things of the world. I know…easy right? In the bible God describes what worldly things are.

For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. (‭1 John‬ ‭2‬:‭16‬ NIV)

So like every good, holy, righteous, just, and super spiritual sermon, there will be 3 points to my blog.

The Lust of the Flesh: we can relate the lust of the flesh to what our bodies want. This includes getting drunk, high, and doing the dirty before marriage. Before I became a Christian I really loved pleasing my flesh. I mean…who doesn’t? Christianity and the Bible to me was just a rule book that forced me to give up what I did on the weekends. I was ignorant to the fact that God gives us choices in life. I should chosen to follow God, but instead I chose to follow what made me happy. This prideful, selfish, egotistical mindset forced me to produce billions of wants that were unsatisfactory. Nothing seemed to give me a life long happiness, or the things that I wanted was out of reach. And let me tell you, the more you live for yourself, the more people you screw over. I was thirsty to fill a void that was impossible to replenish without christ.

Lust of the Eyes: this refers to the things that we look at. The trash you put in, the more trash you let out. I’m not telling you that watching a rated R movie will condemn you to hell, but we have to lookout for what we put into our lives.

Pride of Life: everyone has a little bit of a pride issue. We tend to focus on our relationship with God more than His relationship with us. We worry more about our love for God than God’s love for us. Our focus leans towards how well of a Christian we are, rather than how good God is. Going to church, going on mission trips, being in a small group, and being a good persons doesn’t save you. God saves you. It’s not about us it’s about Him. It’s not about your righteousness, it’s about His righteousness. It’s not about our inventory of good deeds, it’s about God’s obsessity for us.

Christians have been focusing too hard on becoming like Christ. I believe we should strive for Christ-likeness, but if we put all of our focus on how to make ourselves better, we forget to focus on how to make the world better.

Now I’m not telling you to smoke weed as a toll of evangelism, but I am saying to stop being afraid of the world. One of our goals as Christians is to reach the world.

To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings. (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭9‬:‭20-23‬ NIV)

Don’t be afraid of the culture. If you want to reach the culture, then study the culture. Know what’s popular and what’s not. Make yourself credible to those you reach. Let God work through you so that you can reach those who need to be reach. Don’t obsess yourself and your fruits, because without God you wouldn’t have fruits. I love you guys! Keep seeking God and reaching others for Him!

Separate yourself from worldly things, but don’t separate yourself from the world. 

3 thoughts on “World vs Worldly Things.

  1. Great points! And those three areas is where Satan most tempts us to stray. If you look at the account where Adam and Eve were tempted in the garden, Satan appealed first to the body (“it was good for food”) then to lust (“pleasing to the eye.”) and lastly, pride (“good for wisdom”). This was the same three areas he tried to tempt Jesus in the desert, too. Just an observation. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I long ago gave up on wanting items. One I remember badly. I want a piece of jewelry as a teen. My Mother wentvoutvof her way to buy it for mr. I never wore and gave it to my niece. I still few guilty about it.

    Like

  3. Hi, I appreciate this good reminder and I know it’s needed in the body. Have you ever heard of the “Seven Mountains of The Culture” movement? Some of the shepherds of it are Lance Wallnau, Os Hillman, along with quite a few others. It’s a very Christ centered move to show christians how the marketplace is a place of life and ministry out side the pulpit. Fulfilling Jesus command to occupy until he comes. Just some thoughts I thought you might be interested in. The culture is where it has to happen once we have been discipled and waited for the power from on high.

    Like

Leave a Reply

